Episode 272: Quick-Quick Slow Death

This is the 272nd edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the playlist to accompany it. You may be able to CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD but note the shows are large files & this may not be the best way to listen. The show is also available to stream via Mixcloud and the Progzilla Radio Network (the show appears on Progzilla in alternate weeks). Your usual host is taking a bit of a break this time but the show will go on, with regular guest presenters Rebsie & Daniel kindly standing in for him. They’ll be bringing you their own unique take on Eppy Gibbon music again. Their feature album this time is ‘The 8-Track Stereo Record’ by Sundae Club, plus there’s the usual mixture of great & eclectic sounds from bands/acts you know & quite a lot that you won’t.  Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks from where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 2 hours and 13 minutes. Downloaded file is 121.7 MB.

1. Orangeblu (4:07) – Andy Nice (Taken from the album ‘The Secrets of Me’; see  www.fandf.bandcamp.com)

2. Miri It Is (2:37) – Circulus (Taken from the album ‘The Lick on the Tip of an Envelope Yet to be Sent’; see www.circulus.bandcamp.com)

3. Skies Crying (4:52) – Anthony Phillips (Taken from the album ‘Strings of Light’; see www.anthonyphillips.co.uk)

4. Wilderness (3:06) – Susanna & the Brotherhood of Our Lady (Taken from the album ‘Garden of Earthly Delights’; see www.susannasonata.com)

5. Playing Nero (4:17) – The Mark Lanegan Band (Taken from the album ‘Somebody’s Knocking’; see www.marklanegan.com)

6. Sleep (3:12) – Chad Walsh (Taken from the EP ‘The Miracle of Sleep’; see www.chadwalsh.bandcamp.com)

7. Matt Berry’s Music For Insomniacs (The ffs Sound Studio Recording) (4:40) – Sundae Club (Taken from the album ‘The 8-Track Stereo Record’; see www.sundaeclub.bandcamp.com)

8. And The World Was Gone (4:36) – Snow Ghosts (Taken from the album ‘A Small Murmuration’; see snowghosts.bandcamp.com)

9. Unison (3:13) – The Mystery of Bulgarian Voices & Lisa Gerrard (Taken from the album ‘BooCheeMish’; see themysteryofthebulgarianvoices.com)

10. Shallow then Halo (4:42) – Azam Ali (Taken from the album ‘Phantoms’; see www.azamalimusic.com)

11. A Galliard by Anthony Holborne (2:13) – Jan Akkerman (Taken from the album ‘Tabernakel’; see www.janakkerman.com)

12. 110 Volts of Joy (4:18) – Sundae Club (Taken from the album ‘The 8-Track Stereo Record’; see www.sundaeclub.bandcamp.com)

As part of the feature ‘The 80s Weren’t All Rubbish You Know’:

13. Asylums in Jerusalem (3:12) – Scritti Politti (Taken from the album ‘Songs to Remember’; see www.scritti.net)

14. The Oldest Road (4:34) – Arch Garrison (Taken from the album ‘I Will Be A Pilgrim’; see www.archgarrison.co.uk ) Tickets and info for Arch Garrison’s forthcoming Winter Tour can be found at www.facebook.com/Owltextures.

15. Murder Cries (3:29) – Snow Ghosts (Taken from the album ‘A Small Murmuration’; see snowghosts.bandcamp.com)

16. Coucou (2:33) – Turzi (Taken from the album ‘C’; see turzi.bandcamp.com)

17. For the Sun (3:30) – Marissa Nadler & Stephen Brodsky (Taken from the album ‘Droneflower’; see marissanadler.bandcamp.com)

18. Beneath the Silence (3:46) – Murmur (Taken from the album ‘The Boundless Black’; see summonmurmur.bandcamp.com)

19. Ouch! (1:49) – The Rutles (Taken from the album ‘The Rutles’; see www.the-rutles.com)

20. Hell’s Angels (7:47) – Roy Harper (Taken from the album ‘Flat Baroque and Beserk’; see www.royharper.co.uk)

21. Keep Moving Don’t Move (5:49) – Kate Tempest (Taken from the album ‘The Book of Traps and Lessons’; see www.katetempest.co.uk)

22. Shallow (4:58) – James Yorkston (Taken from the album ‘The Route to the Harmonium’; see www.jamesyorkston.co.uk)

23. Cuckoo Song (3:58) – Les Penning & Robert Reed (Taken from the album ‘Return to Penhos’; see www.robertreed.bandcamp.com)

24. I Weave Through the Trees (3:18) – The Doomed Bird of Providence (Taken from the album ‘You Brought the Knife’; see https://doomedbird.com and fandf.bandcamp.com)

25. Everything Is Fine (78rpm version) (5:18) Sundae Club (Taken from the album ‘The 8-Track Stereo Record’; see www.sundaeclub.bandcamp.com)

26. Odd Even (3:19) – Cardiacs (Taken from the album ‘Sing To God’; see www.cardiacs.net and alphabet-business-concern.bandcamp.com). There is also a Just Giving page to raise funds for Tim Smith’s care and rehabilitation. Donations to this page are making a huge difference to his quality of life.

27. Made (3:44) – Greg Weeks (Taken from the album ‘Awake Like Sleep’; see www.gregweeks.net)

28. Justice – As Is (4:18) – Sone Institute (Taken from the album ‘Where Moth and Rust Consume’; see www.soneinstitute.co.uk and fandf.bandcamp.com)

Thanks to all the musicians who contributed and to all listeners. Send us comments if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!). If you want to keep up to date with news about the show, EppyFest, or just chat with other listeners, don’t forget that there’s a Facebook group – just search for the Eppy Gibbon Podcast Show on Facebook and request to join, plus don’t forget that we’re now part of the Progzilla Radio Network. Eppy will be back next time with lots of great music and the usual eclectic mixture of styles and genres, and because it’s that time of the year again, it’s a festive special.

Episode 53: The Springers

This is the 53rd edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the blog entry to accompany it. CLICK HERE TO LISTEN. After last time’s extremely popular show, which featured an interview with the mighty Kavus Torabi, I’m back with one of my ‘normal’ shows so there will be lots of music from assorted artists, some new to the show plus several old favourites. The feature album this time around is ‘British Summer Time’ by Sundae Club and there will be three tracks from that – the perfect album with which to see out the summer. You’ll also hear a diverse selection of music from genres such prog rock, chamber pop, jazz, cinematic rock and virtually everything else in between from the US, Germany, Canada, and the UK. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks from where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 1 hour and 58 minutes. Downloaded file is 108 MB.

1. Ending (3:46) – Daniel Carlson (Taken from the album ‘Aviary Jackson; see www.danielcarlson.com/, www.myspace.com/dcarlsonmusic, www.folkwit.com/carlson.htm & www.groundlift.org/Daniel_Carlson)

2. War With Love (3:32) – Louise Le May (Taken from the mini-album ‘Tell Me One Thing That Is New’; see louiselemay.com/, www.folkwit.com/lemay.htm & www.myspace.com/louiselemay)

3. Adults (5:22) – Calle Debauche (Taken from the album ‘Potemkin Carnival’; see calledebauche.com/index.php & www.myspace.com/debaucherystreet)

4. Lines On The Horizon (5:48) – Argos (Taken from the album ‘Circles’; see www.myspace.com/returntowhatever & www.musearecords.com/ext_re_new_releaseselect.php?np=36914)

5. Honey Bee (3:58) – Sundae Club (Taken from the album British Summer Time; see sundaeclub.bandcamp.com/ & www.myspace.com/sundaeclub)

6. Eleven (2:35) – Matt Stevens (Taken from the album ‘Ghost’; see mattstevensguitar.com/ & www.facebook.com/mattstevensloop)

7. Draw (3:40) – Matt Stevens (Taken from the album ‘Ghost’; see mattstevensguitar.com/ & www.facebook.com/mattstevensloop)

8. My Star (4:23) – Creedy (Taken from the ‘Holyground Progressions Series Sampler’; see www.myspace.com/creedymusic & www.holyground.co.uk/)

9. Conscious Dream (5:16) – Rob Martino (Taken from the album ‘One Cloud’; see robmartino.com/ & www.myspace.com/robmartino)

10. London to Shanghai via Chipping Norton (5:01) – Sundae Club (Taken from the album British Summer Time; see sundaeclub.bandcamp.com/ & www.myspace.com/sundaeclub)

11. Spread It All Around (5:31) – The Hipstones (Taken from the album ‘Dreamers’; see www.thehipstones.com.au/ & www.myspace.com/thehipstones)

12. Nothingness First Part II, Love (2:53) – Asaf Sirkis & The Inner Noise (Taken from the album ‘The Song Within; see www.asafsirkis.co.uk/inner.html & www.myspace.com/asafsirkis)

13. Other Stars And Planets (6:45) – Asaf Sirkis Trio (Taken from the album ‘Letting Go; see www.asafsirkis.co.uk/ & www.myspace.com/asafsirkis)

14. The Art Of Earth (4:16) – All Over Everywhere (Taken from the album ‘Inner Firmaments Decay; see www.cdbaby.com/cd/allovereverywhere & www.myspace.com/allovereverywherecp)

15. Timshel (5:21) – Godsticks (Taken from the album ‘Spiral Vendetta’; see godsticks.co.uk/ & www.myspace.com/godsticksmusic)

16. DISTRAKTid (4:48) – 5th Projekt (Taken from the album ‘CiRCADiAN’; see 5thprojekt.com/main/ & www.myspace.com/5thprojekt)

17. The Emperor’s Clothes (6:01) – Spock’s Beard (Taken from the album ‘X; see www.spocksbeard.com/ & www.myspace.com/spocksbeard)

18. Flight Four: India (6:20) – Sundae Club (Taken from the album British Summer Time; see sundaeclub.bandcamp.com/ & www.myspace.com/sundaeclub)

19. Violet, White, Lilac Lily (7:49) – Ian Neal (Taken from the album All in the Golden Afternoon; see www.ianneal.com/ & www.myspace.com/ianneal)

Thanks to all the musicians who let me play their music and thanks to all you listeners too. Send me comments if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!). If you’re having problems listening to the show then the easiest solution is to download it via podcatching software such as iTunes, or a download manager like DownThemAll! The next episode will consist of an interview with Matt Baber and Joff Winks (they of Antique Seeking Nuns, Joff Winks Band, Numbient, and now Sanguine Hum) so expect interesting chat and excellent music.

Episode 15: Ticket to Eternity

Well, here we are at the fifteenth edition of the Epileptic Gibbon Podcast Music Show, and after a wonderful edition from special guest presenter Rebsie Fairholm Eppy is back in da house. CLICK HERE TO LISTEN. This particular show contains well over an hour of music by independent artists from the UK and the US. This month’s special feature is an interview with Hamstall Ridware, one half of UK duo Sundae Club, and we’ll be featuring both Sundae Club albums but with a particular focus on the brand new second album, ‘British Summer Time’, which is destined to become a classic. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks from where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 2 hours 11 minutes. Downloaded file is 120.4 MB.

1. Big Smoke (9:48) – The Noun (Taken from the album ‘Speed Skating’; see www.thenoun.co.uk or www.myspace.com/thenoun)

2. Behind The Sunset (4:50) – Jeff Retzak (available as a free download from www.macjams.com/artist/deus+ex+machina)

Interview with Hamstall Ridware of Sundae Club

3. Angels In The Sky (4:11) – Sundae Club (Taken from the album ‘Technostalgia’ ; see sundaeclub.bandcamp.com/)

4. In Love With Sundae (5:17) – Sundae Club (Taken from the album ‘Technostalgia’ ; see sundaeclub.bandcamp.com/)

5. When Beechleaves Are Falling (3:53) – Sundae Club (Taken from the album ‘Technostalgia’ ; see sundaeclub.bandcamp.com/)

6. Good People (4:21) – Sundae Club (Taken from the new album ‘British Summer Time’ ; see sundaeclub.bandcamp.com/)

7. The Voder (4:32) – Sundae Club (Taken from the new album ‘British Summer Time’ ; see sundaeclub.bandcamp.com/)

8. Honey Bee (3:58) – Sundae Club (Taken from the new album ‘British Summer Time’ ; see sundaeclub.bandcamp.com/)

9. The Doddler (4:27) – Sundae Club (Taken from the new album ‘British Summer Time’ ; see sundaeclub.bandcamp.com/)

10. Flight Four: India (6:20) – Sundae Club (Taken from the new album ‘British Summer Time’ ; see sundaeclub.bandcamp.com/)

11. Let’s Go To Germany (6:05) – Sundae Club (Taken from the new album ‘British Summer Time’ ; see sundaeclub.bandcamp.com/)

12. London to Shanghai via Chipping Norton (5:01) – Sundae Club (Taken from the new album ‘British Summer Time’ ; see sundaeclub.bandcamp.com/)

13. Don’t Drink the Flavour Aid (4:09) – Sundae Club (Currently unavailable though may appear on a vinyl double-album version of British Summer Time’ ; see sundaeclub.bandcamp.com/)

14. The Dorset Hanging Oak (6:35) – The Owl Service (Taken from the album ‘A Garland of Song’ ; see www.stonetaperecordings.co.uk/home.html and www.southern.net)

15. Thanks For The Mammary (3:29) – Asparagus Apocalypse (Free download available from www.macjams.com/artist/Epileptic+Gibbon)

Big thanks to all the artists and listeners who make this show possible. And do drop us a comment and let us know what you think! Feedback is always welcome. And do come back for the August edition of the show for lots more great music.