Episode 222: Esprit de Corps

This is the 222nd edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the playlist to accompany it. You may be able to CLICK HERE TO LISTEN but note the shows are large files & this may not be the best way to listen. If you prefer, you can subscribe to the show via iTunes by sticking feeds2.feedburner.com/TheEpilepticGibbonPodcastMusicShow into the ‘Subscribe to podcast’ area & then you’ll get the new shows as they become available. The show is also available to stream via Mixcloud and the Progzilla Radio Network (the show appears on Progzilla in alternate weeks). Your regular host is back to bring you a typically diverse and eclectic musical mix to help you see out 2017. The feature album is from 2004, ‘Has Been’, by William Shatner so you’ll hear three tracks from this remarkable (& surprisingly good) album. Otherwise you can expect the usual diverse selection of styles and genres, including some teasers about Eppy‘s favourite albums of 2017 and a preview of next year’s EppyFest 7. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks from where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 2 hours & 8 minutes. Downloaded file is 116.9 MB.

1. The 32nd Path (6:19) – Charlie Cawood (Taken from the album ‘The Divine Abstract’; see charliecawood.bandcamp.com & music.badelephant.co.uk/music)

2. Common People (4:41) – William Shatner (Taken from the album ‘Has Been’; see williamshatner.com/ws/)

3. Eagle Nebula (9:11) – Bryan and the Aardvarks (Taken from the album ‘Sounds From The Deep Field’; see bryanandtheaardvarks.com/, bryanandtheaardvarks.bandcamp.com/album/sounds-from-the-deep-field, & www.facebook.com/bryanandtheaardvarks/)

4. Mercury Trick (3:07) – Chloë March (Taken from the album ‘Blood-Red Spark’; see www.chloemarch.co.uk and chloemarch.bandcamp.com)

5. Fukushima Surfer Boys (3:42) – Trojan Horse (Taken from the album ‘Fukushima Surfer Boys’; see trojanhorse.bandcamp.com/ & www.facebook.com/trojanhorseuk)

6. Futures (4:27) – V Ä L V Ē (Taken from the EP ‘#1 [the theosophical society]’; see valvemusic.bandcamp.com/album/1-the-theosophical-society)

7. Chapelle lunaire (6:53) – Miriodor (Taken from the album ‘Signal 9’; see miriodor.com/, cuneiformrecords.bandcamp.com/album/signal-9 & www.facebook.com/miriodor?fref=ts)

8. Sleepcloud (5:20) – Spindle Ensemble (Taken from the album ‘Bea‘; see spindleensemble.bandcamp.com/album/Bea & www.bloommusic.co.uk/artists/spindle-ensemble/)

9. Beloved (5:41) – Firefly Burning (Taken from the album ‘Skeleton Hill’; see www.fireflyburning.co.uk/, fireflyburning.bandcamp.com/ & www.facebook.com/fireflyburning)

Firefly Burning will be on at EppyFest 7 along with Gong, North Sea Radio Orchestra, Doris Brendel, Sanguine Hum (acoustic) and more over 27th & 28th July, 2018, in Cheltenham. For more details and tickets go to eppyfest.co.uk/

10. Glass Hillside (4:54) – Grizzly Bear (Taken from the album ‘Painted Ruins’; see grizzly-bear.net & www.facebook.com/grizzlybear/)

11. I Can’t Get Behind That (3:00) – William Shatner (Taken from the album ‘Has Been’; see williamshatner.com/ws/)

12. Harvest Festival (4:15) – XTC (Taken from the album ‘Apple Venus Volume 1’; see chalkhills.org/, www.ape.uk.net & www.last.fm/music/XTC)

13. Overture Part Two (2:05) – Johnny Unicorn (Taken from the album Heavy Jugs to the Moon’; see www.johnnyunicorn.com/ & johnnyunicorn.bandcamp.com)

14. Tank! (3:27) – Yoko Kanno & The Seatbelts (Taken from the compilation album ‘Cowboy Bebop Tank! The! Best!’; see www.jameswong.com/ykproject/core.html)

15. Afterglow (3:45) – mouse on the keys (Taken from the ‘Top Shelf 2017 Sampler’ but also available on the album ‘Out of Body’; see topshelfrecords.bandcamp.com/album/2017-samplertopshelfrecords.bandcamp.com/album/out-of-body & mouseonthekeys.net/)

16. Megaton Bingo (6:25) – The Night Programme (Taken from the album ‘Audition’; see dementio13.com/album/audition, dementio13.wordpress.com & www.facebook.com/Dementio13)

17. This Is Not A Fire (5:06) – Thumpermonkey (Taken from the EP ‘Electricity’; see thumpermonkey.bandcamp.com/ & www.thumpermonkey.com/)

18. Destiny Repeats Itself (7:24) – Bubblemath (Taken from the album ‘Edit Peptide’; see cuneiformrecords.bandcamp.com/album/edit-peptide, www.bubblemath.com/, & www.facebook.com/bubblemath)

19. White Blindness (3:10) – The Hare and Hoofe (Single available via thehareandhoofe.bandcamp.com/track/white-blindness; see also thehareandhoofe.wordpress.com & www.facebook.com/TheHareAndHoofe)

20. No Game (4:14) – Chloë March (Taken from the album ‘Blood-Red Spark’; see www.chloemarch.co.uk and chloemarch.bandcamp.com)

21. Together (5:40) – William Shatner (Taken from the album ‘Has Been’; see williamshatner.com/ws/)

22. Song for Guy (6:50) – Elton John (Taken from the album ‘A Single Man’; see www.eltonjohn.com)

Thanks to all the musicians who contributed and to all listeners. A happy New Year to one and all! Send us comments if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!). If you want to keep up to date with news about the show, EppyFest, or just chat with other listeners, don’t forget that there’s a Facebook group – just search for the Eppy Gibbon Podcast Show on Facebook and request to join, plus don’t forget that we’re now part of the Progzilla Radio Network. Eppy will be back again for the first show of 2018, so we hope you’ll be back too to see how he kicks off the new year.

Advertisements

Episode 118: Sound of the Word

This is the one-hundred-and-eighteenth edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the playlist to accompany it. CLICK HERE TO LISTEN. You can also listen via Mixcloud here. This show is a guest slot introduced by Rebsie Fairholm and Daniel Staniforth of Alchymical Muse. This show is a special themed edition showcasing the power of the spoken word: whether it be poetry, chant, percussion, stories or just a few interjections. There are two mini-feature albums: ‘Promenade’ by The Divine Comedy, and ‘Cornology’ by The Bonzo Dog Doo-Dah Band, plus lots more interesting and unusual music. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks to where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 1 hour and 40 minutes. Downloaded file is 91.8 MB.

1. Ars Poetica (2:07) – Daniel Staniforth & Rebsie Fairholm (Taken from the album ‘Ruins’; see lunatrick.bandcamp.com/album/ruins-poems-of-margaret-randall & www.flowforth.com)

2. Rain (2:25) – Trwbador (Taken from the album ‘Trwbador; see www.trwbador.co.uk)

3. I Caught a Glimpse of your Eyes (2:19) – Current 93 (Taken from the album ‘Hypnagogue: A Dream Prologue; see www.brainwashed.com/c93)

4. Tanith and the Lion Tree (3:24) – Edward Ka-Spel (Taken from the album ‘Tanith and the Lion Tree’; see www.brainwashed.com/eks)

5. The Ocean Doesn’t Want Me (1:51) – Tom Waits (Taken from the album ‘Bone Machine; see www.tomwaits.com)

6. Shirt (4:27) – Bonzo Dog Doo-Dah Band (Taken from the album ‘Cornology’; see www.facebook.com & www.neilinnes.org/bonzo.htm)

7. Don’t Look Down (4:48) – The Divine Comedy (Taken from the album ‘Promenade; see www.thedivinecomedy.com)

8. Château D’Isaster Tapes (11:11) – Jethro Tull (Taken from the album ‘20 Years of Jethro Tull; see www.jethrotull.com)

As part of the feature, ‘The 80s Weren’t All Rubbish You Know!’ …

9. Slender Fungus (3:35) – Tones on Tail (Taken from the album ‘Everything; see www.last.fm/music/Tones+on+Tail)

10. Lonely London (7:31) – Jah Wobble (Taken from the album ‘The Inspiration of William Blake’; see www.30hertzrecords.com)

11. Liberation (4:30) – Martyn Bennett (Taken from the album ‘Grit’; see www.martynbennett.com)

12. Stories (2:47) – Tunng (Taken from the album ‘Comments of the Inner Chorus’; see www.tunng.co.uk)

13. Manafon (5:23) – David Sylvian (Taken from the album ‘Manafon; see www.davidsylvian.com)

14. Unborn Stillborn (3:41) – Marc Almond (Taken from the album ‘Violent Silence’; see www.marcalmond.co.uk)

15. Sonnet 18 (6:05) – Bryan Ferry (Taken from the album ‘Slave to Love; see www.bryanferry.com)

16. There Ain’t Half Been Some Clever Bastards (3:02) – Ian Dury and the Blockheads (Taken from the B-side of ‘Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick’ and available as a bonus track on the album ‘Do It Yourself’; see www.iandury.co.uk & www.theblockheads.com/)

17. The Booklovers (5:52) – The Divine Comedy (Taken from the album ‘Promenade; see www.thedivinecomedy.com)

18. The Bride Stripped Bare by ‘Bachelors’ (2:39) – Bonzo Dog Doo-Dah Band (Taken from the album ‘Cornology’; see www.facebook.com)

19. Guth Na Torainn (Voice of Thunder) (6:52) – The Moors (Taken from the album ‘The Moors; see mobiusbandwidth.com/themoors.html)

20. Newcastle Lullaby (6:23) – Rachel Unthank & the Winterset (Taken from the album ‘The Bairns’; see www.the-unthanks.com)

Many thanks to Epileptic Gibbon for entrusting us with another guest slot. Please leave a comment if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!) or if you want to have your say on anything else connected to this podcast. If you want to keep up to date with news about this podcast, EppyFest, or just chat with other listeners, don’t forget that there’s a Facebook group – just search for the Eppy Gibbon Podcast Show on Facebook and request to join. Eppy will be back for the next episode.