Episode 236: Half-term report, 2018

This is the 236th edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the playlist to accompany it. You may be able to CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD but note the shows are large files & this may not be the best way to listen. If you prefer, you can subscribe to the show via iTunes by sticking feeds2.feedburner.com/TheEpilepticGibbonPodcastMusicShow into the ‘Subscribe to podcast’ area & then you’ll get the new shows as they become available. The show is also available to stream via Mixcloud and the Progzilla Radio Network (the show appears on Progzilla in alternate weeks). This show entirely focuses on music from 2018, as I focus on some of best music to be found on albums, EPs and singles released so far this year. I’m trying to cram in as much music as possible with, in all but one case, only one track being played from each artist/release, so therefore there will not be a feature album for this show, though we will be having a feature label, of sorts, as we’ll be playing tracks from a large number of albums released via the Bad Elephant Music label. We’ll be covering the usual diverse selection of styles and genres, plus there’s another nod to the upcoming EppyFest 7. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks from where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 2 hours & 41 minutes. Downloaded file is 147.9 MB.

1. A Guest House (5:01) – Hanna Benn (Taken from the EP ‘Divide’; see hannabenn.bandcamp.com, hannabenn.comwww.facebook.com/HannaBennMusic/)

2. Chalkhill Blue (5:53) – Rebsie Fairholm (Taken from the EP ‘Chalkhills’; see rebsiefairholm.bandcamp.com & rebsiefairholm.businesscatalyst.com/)  

3. Pierrot’s Dream Theater (7:00) – Ions & Eras (Taken from the EP ‘Life For A While’; see ionsanderas.bandcamp.com/releases & www.facebook.com/ionsanderas/)

4. Acid Rain (6:57) – Flutatious (Taken from the album ‘Festival’; see www.flutatious.co.uk/, www.magickeye.comwww.facebook.com/flutatious)

5. Hen’s Teeth (3:10) – Olden Yolk (Taken from the album ‘Olden Yolk’; see oldenyolk.bandcamp.com & www.facebook.com/oldenyolk)

6. Say You Love Me Too (4:14) – Jonathan Bree (Taken from the album Sleepwalking; see jonathanbree.bandcamp.com & www.facebook.com/jonathanbree666/)

7. Mettrix (5:23) – Nadia Struiwigh (Taken from the album ‘WHRRu’; see nadiastruiwigh.bandcamp.com/album/whrru, www.nadiastruiwigh.comwww.facebook.com/NadiaStruiwigh/)

8. Part 7 (4:22) – Matt Baber (Taken from the album ‘Suite For Piano and Electronics’; see mattbaber.bandcamp.com & www.badelephant.co.uk/)

9. EppyFest promo (2:00) (You can see Matt Baber as one half of Sanguine Hum (acoustic), plus Fractal Mirror and Neil Campbell at EppyFest 7 in late July; see eppyfest.co.uk/ for more details about the event and buying tickets, and you can also watch the video that accompanies this promo via www.youtube.com/watch?v=MBkJ4uH8gYQ)

10. White Sounds (5:25) – Fractal Mirror (Taken from the album ‘Close to Vapour’; see www.fractalmirror.net/, www.facebook.com/Fractalmirrormusic/ & fractalmirror.bandcamp.com/album/close-to-vapour)

11. The Little River And The Journey’s End (4:53) – Neil Campbell (Taken from the album ‘The Outsider – News From Nowhere’; see www.neilcampbell.org.uk/, neilcampbell.bandcamp.com/ & store.cdbaby.com/Artist/NeilCampbell)

12. Salt + Charcoal (4:20) – Plini (Single available from plini.bandcamp.com/track/salt-charcoal; see also www.plini.cowww.facebook.com/Plini)

13. Yossarian (3:34) – Blanko Basnet (Taken from the album ‘Ocean Meets the Animal’; see www.blankobasnet.com/, blankobasnet.bandcamp.com & www.facebook.com/BlankoBasnet/)

14. The Creature Tree (5:24) – Mothertongue (Taken from the album ‘Where The Moonlight Snows′; see www.mothertongue.me.uk/, www.facebook.com/mothertongued, & mothertonguemusic.bandcamp.com/album/where-the-moonlight-snows)

15. AI Meta Girl (3:37) – MoeTar (Taken from the EP ‘Final Four’; see www.moetar.com, moetar.bandcamp.com & www.facebook.com/MoeTar)

16. Run and Hide Away (5:24) – Gumshen (Taken from the album ‘One Time Supershow’; see gumshen.bandcamp.com, gumshen.com/ & www.facebook.com/Gumshen)

17. Disputed Area (5:03) – Tonochrome (Taken from the album ‘A Map In Fragments’; see www.tonochrome.com/, tonochrome.bandcamp.com & www.facebook.com/tonochrome/

18. Interlude 3 (1:07) Tonochrome (Taken from the album ‘A Map In Fragments’; see www.tonochrome.com/, tonochrome.bandcamp.com & www.facebook.com/tonochrome/)

19. Jupiter (4:11) – Kinkajous (Single available from knkjs.bandcamp.com/track/jupiter; see also www.facebook.com/knkjs/)

20. Eden on the Air (2:22) The 180Gs (Taken from the album ‘Singin’ to God′; see davidminnick1.bandcamp.com/album/singin-to-god)

21. Sleep Paralysis (6:04) – Frequency Drift (Taken from the album ‘Letters To Maro’; see frequencydrift.bandcamp.com, frequencydrift.com/ & www.facebook.com/FrequencyDrift/)

22. Red Rivers (4:45) – Candythief (Taken from the album ‘Imaginary Medals’; see candythief.bandcamp.com/album/imaginary-medals-2candythief.com/ & www.facebook.com/candythiefmusic)

23. Dancing Robots (3:59) The Fierce And The Dead (Taken from the album ‘The Euphoric’; see tfatd.bandcamp.com/album/the-euphoric, thefierceandthedead.bandcamp.com/album/the-euphoricwww.fierceandthedead.com/ & www.facebook.com/fierceandthedead?fref=ts)

24. Lifeboat (4:11) – Talitha Rise (Taken from the album ‘An Abandoned Orchid House’; see talitharise.bandcamp.com/album/an-abandoned-orchid-house-digital-pre-order, www.talitharise.com/www.facebook.com/talitharise/)

25. Five More (2:07) The Twelve Hour Foundation (Taken from the EP ‘Bunch Of Fives’; see www.twelvehourfoundation.co.uk/, thetwelvehourfoundation.bandcamp.com/album/bunch-of-fives-epwww.facebook.com/twelvehourfoundation)

26. The Bottom of the Ocean (5:15) – Leaving Richmond (Taken from the album ‘Subcircuits; see leavingrichmond.tumblr.com/, leavingrichmond.bandcamp.com/ & www.facebook.com/leavingrichmond)

27. Three Occultations (4:15) Richard Wileman (Taken from the album ‘Veil’; see richardwileman.bandcamp.com/album/veilkardaestra.wordpress.com)

28. Far Away I (8:33) Benjamin Louis Brody (Taken from the album ‘Far Away Music’; see preservedsound.bandcamp.com/album/far-away-musicwww.benbrodymusic.com & www.facebook.com/benjaminlouisbrody/)

29. All Waves (3:59) – Sami Fitz (Taken from the EP ‘Tephra’; see samifitz.bandcamp.com/album/tephra, www.samifitz.com & www.facebook.com/samifitzmusic/)

30. I’ll Always Be Right Here (5:14) – Dominique Leone (Taken from the EP ‘Domestic Bliss’; see dominiqueleone.bandcamp.com/album/domestic-bliss & dominiqueleone.com/)

31. Slow Movements (8:43) – Kavus Torabi (Taken from the ‘Solar Divination’ EP; see kavustorabi.bandcamp.com/releases)

Thanks to all the musicians who contributed and to all listeners. Send us comments if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!). If you want to keep up to date with news about the show, EppyFest, or just chat with other listeners, don’t forget that there’s a Facebook group – just search for the Eppy Gibbon Podcast Show on Facebook and request to join, plus don’t forget that we’re now part of the Progzilla Radio Network. Eppy will be back next time with his last show before EppyFest 7, and he’ll be covering the usual eclectic mixture of styles and genres, so it’ll definitely be worth listening in.

Advertisements

Episode 230: Michael Bearpark interview 2018 pt.1

This is the 230th edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the playlist to accompany it. You may be able to CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD but note the shows are large files & this may not be the best way to listen. If you prefer, you can subscribe to the show via iTunes by sticking feeds2.feedburner.com/TheEpilepticGibbonPodcastMusicShow into the ‘Subscribe to podcast’ area & then you’ll get the new shows as they become available. The show is also available to stream via Mixcloud and the Progzilla Radio Network (the show appears on Progzilla in alternate weeks). This latest show is built around part one of an interview with Michael Bearpark of Henry Fool, Darkroom & No-man, with Michael choosing most of the music and reflecting on new discoveries and the connections between the choices and how they have intersected with key moments in his life. There’s no feature album tonight but you can expect to hear a typically eclectic musical mix. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks from where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 2 hours & 14 minutes. Downloaded file is 122.6 MB.

1. 1991 (4:24) – The Fierce And The Dead (Taken from the forthcoming album ‘The Euphoric’; see tfatd.bandcamp.com/album/the-euphoric, thefierceandthedead.bandcamp.com/album/the-euphoricwww.fierceandthedead.com/ & www.facebook.com/fierceandthedead?fref=ts)

2. Life For A While (6:02) – Ions & Eras (Taken from the EP ‘Life For A While’; see ionsanderas.bandcamp.com/releases & www.facebook.com/ionsanderas/)

3. Joy Opposites (4:48) – Cave In (Taken from the album ‘Antenna’; see cavein.bandcamp.com, www.facebook.com/CaveIn.Official/ and if you’d like to contribute to the Caleb Scofield Memorial Fund you can do so here: www.youcaring.com/jenscofield-1149130)

Interview with Michael Bearpark

4. Song For Insane Times (4:01) – Kevin Ayers (Taken from the album ‘Joy Of A Toy’; see www.kevin-ayers.com/ & en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kevin_Ayers)

5. Private Nocturnal (6:49) – Can (Taken from the album ‘The Lost Tapes’; see www.spoonrecords.com/#)

6. I Am An Animal (3:48) – Pete Townsend (Taken from the album ‘Empty Glass’; see petetownshend.net/)

7. A mes Étoile (3:18) – Christine Ott (Taken from the album ‘Only Silence Remains’; see christineott.bandcamp.com, www.christineott.fr/www.facebook.com/christineottmusic/)

8. Polar (10:08) – AKKU Quintet (Taken from the album ‘Aeon; see www.akkuquintet.com/akkuquintet.bandcamp.com & www.facebook.com/akkuquintet)

9. Parting Waves (4:09) – Richard Pinhas & Barry Cleveland (Taken from the album ‘Mu; see cuneiformrecords.bandcamp.com/album/mu, www.barrycleveland.com/ & www.facebook.com/barry.cleveland.50)

A few words from AndrewOsOstler

10. Six Strings Come Out Good (12:01) – Darkroom (Taken from the forthcoming ‘Paradise Yard’ EP; see www.darkroomtheband.net/, darkroomtheband.bandcamp.com/ & www.facebook.com/darkroomtheband)

11. Pearl Of The Lake (5:11) – Kaprekar’s Constant (Taken from the album ‘Fate Outsmarts Desire’; see www.kaprekarsconstant.com/kaprekars.bandcamp.comwww.facebook.com/Kaprekars/)

12. Music for Guitar And Voices (3:46) – The Broca Ensemble with Georgina Brett (Single available via store.championversion.com/album/the-broca-ensemble-with-georgina-brett; see also thebrocaensemble.bandcamp.comwww.facebook.com/TheBrocaEnsemble)

13. Every Stranger’s Voice (4:11) – Plenty (Taken from the album ‘It Could Be Home’; see timbowness.wordpress.com/album-writings/plenty-it-could-be-home/burningshed.com/plenty_it-could-be-home_cd)

14. Transference I (4:24) – Thomas Stone (Taken from the album ‘Séance′; see www.thomasstonemusic.com/ & soundcloud.com/jecklin)

15. Whipping Post (8:27) – Joel Harrison (Taken from the album ‘Search’; see joelharrison.comwww.facebook.com/joelharrisongtr/)

Thanks to all the musicians who contributed and to all listeners, plus a special thanks to Michael Bearpark for coming into the studio and picking most of the music. Send us comments if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!). If you want to keep up to date with news about the show, EppyFest, or just chat with other listeners, don’t forget that there’s a Facebook group – just search for the Eppy Gibbon Podcast Show on Facebook and request to join, plus don’t forget that we’re now part of the Progzilla Radio Network. Eppy will be back again next time, with the second part of this interview with Michael, so we hope to see you back for that.