Episode 82: A Change of Bait

This is the eighty-second edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the playlist to accompany it. CLICK HERE TO LISTEN. This show is a guest slot introduced by Rebsie Fairholm and Daniel Staniforth of Alchymical Muse. The feature album is ‘Aye’ by Martyn Bennett, extraordinary multi-genre multi-instrumentalist from the isles of Scotland, along with a lovingly selected range of our favourite tracks and artists. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks to where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 1 hour and 39 minutes. Downloaded file is 92 MB.

1.  Cumha Easbuig Earraghaidheal (3:11) – Sìleas  (Taken from the album ‘Play on Light’; see www.footstompin.com/artists/sileas )

2.  Moses (4:03) – Elizabeth Fraser  (Taken from the 2009 single of the same name; see www.elizabethfraser.com )

3.  Poor Little Me (5:27) – Eliza Carthy  (Taken from the album ‘Angels & Cigarettes’; see www.eliza-carthy.com )

4.  Aye? (6:21) – Martyn Bennett  (Taken from the album ‘Bothy Culture’; see www.martynbennett.com )

5.  Distance (3:32) – Miranda Sex Garden (Taken from the album ‘Suspira’; see www.mirandasexgarden.com )

6.  Quiet Land of Erin/Ard Ti Chuain (5:10) – Mouth Music  (Taken from the album ‘The Order of Things’; see www.mouthmusic.co.uk )

7.  Acid Tongue (4:46) – Carter Tutti (Taken from the album ‘Feral Vapours of the Silver Ether’; see http://chrisandcosey.com )

As part of the new feature, ‘The 80s Weren’t All Rubbish You Know!’ …

8.  Man of Two Worlds (4:29) – Ultravox (Taken from the album ‘Lament’; see www.ultravox.org.uk )

9.  Frozen (5:43) – Tindersticks (Taken from the album ‘The Something Rain’; see www.tindersticks.co.uk )

10.  Sky Blue Mix (4:19) – Martyn Bennett/Peter Gabriel  (Taken from the album ‘Aye’; see www.martynbennett.com )

11.  Dream of Me (8:25) – The Violet Hour  (Taken from the album ‘The Fire Sermon’; no web presence for this band, but see www.dorisbrendel.com )

12.  The Songs that we Sing (3:01) – Charlotte Gainsbourg (Taken from the album ‘5:55’ ; see www.charlottegainsbourg.com )

13.  Un Dernier Verre (Pour La Route) (2:51) – Beirut (Taken from the album ‘The Flying Club Cup’; see http://beirutband.com )

14.  On Horseback (3:26) – Mike Oldfield (Taken from the album ‘Elements’: see www.mikeoldfieldofficial.com )

15.  Only Solitaire (1:30) – Jethro Tull  (Taken from the album ‘20 Years of Jethro Tull’; see www.j-tull.com )

16.  Mr Paxman (2:38) – Project Adorno  (Taken from the album ‘Shine Bright on Thursdays’; see www.projectadorno.net )

17.  Paisley Spin (5:55) – Martyn Bennett  (Taken from the album ‘Aye’; see www.martynbennett.com )

18.  Requiem Again (4:07) – Durutti Column (Taken from the album ‘Vini Reilly’; see www.thedurutticolumn.com )

Many thanks to Epileptic Gibbon for entrusting us with another guest slot. Please leave a comment if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!) Eppy will be back for the next episode with another interesting show.