Episode 82: A Change of Bait

July 29, 2012 at 12:26 am (Uncategorized) (, , )

This is the eighty-second edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the playlist to accompany it. CLICK HERE TO LISTEN. This show is a guest slot introduced by Rebsie Fairholm and Daniel Staniforth of Alchymical Muse. The feature album is ‘Aye’ by Martyn Bennett, extraordinary multi-genre multi-instrumentalist from the isles of Scotland, along with a lovingly selected range of our favourite tracks and artists. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks to where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 1 hour and 39 minutes. Downloaded file is 92 MB.

1.  Cumha Easbuig Earraghaidheal (3:11) – Sìleas  (Taken from the album ‘Play on Light’; see www.footstompin.com/artists/sileas )

2.  Moses (4:03) – Elizabeth Fraser  (Taken from the 2009 single of the same name; see www.elizabethfraser.com )

3.  Poor Little Me (5:27) – Eliza Carthy  (Taken from the album ‘Angels & Cigarettes’; see www.eliza-carthy.com )

4.  Aye? (6:21) – Martyn Bennett  (Taken from the album ‘Bothy Culture’; see www.martynbennett.com )

5.  Distance (3:32) – Miranda Sex Garden (Taken from the album ‘Suspira’; see www.mirandasexgarden.com )

6.  Quiet Land of Erin/Ard Ti Chuain (5:10) – Mouth Music  (Taken from the album ‘The Order of Things’; see www.mouthmusic.co.uk )

7.  Acid Tongue (4:46) – Carter Tutti (Taken from the album ‘Feral Vapours of the Silver Ether’; see http://chrisandcosey.com )

As part of the new feature, ‘The 80s Weren’t All Rubbish You Know!’ …

8.  Man of Two Worlds (4:29) – Ultravox (Taken from the album ‘Lament’; see www.ultravox.org.uk )

9.  Frozen (5:43) – Tindersticks (Taken from the album ‘The Something Rain’; see www.tindersticks.co.uk )

10.  Sky Blue Mix (4:19) – Martyn Bennett/Peter Gabriel  (Taken from the album ‘Aye’; see www.martynbennett.com )

11.  Dream of Me (8:25) – The Violet Hour  (Taken from the album ‘The Fire Sermon’; no web presence for this band, but see www.dorisbrendel.com )

12.  The Songs that we Sing (3:01) – Charlotte Gainsbourg (Taken from the album ‘5:55’ ; see www.charlottegainsbourg.com )

13.  Un Dernier Verre (Pour La Route) (2:51) – Beirut (Taken from the album ‘The Flying Club Cup’; see http://beirutband.com )

14.  On Horseback (3:26) – Mike Oldfield (Taken from the album ‘Elements’: see www.mikeoldfieldofficial.com )

15.  Only Solitaire (1:30) – Jethro Tull  (Taken from the album ‘20 Years of Jethro Tull’; see www.j-tull.com )

16.  Mr Paxman (2:38) – Project Adorno  (Taken from the album ‘Shine Bright on Thursdays’; see www.projectadorno.net )

17.  Paisley Spin (5:55) – Martyn Bennett  (Taken from the album ‘Aye’; see www.martynbennett.com )

18.  Requiem Again (4:07) – Durutti Column (Taken from the album ‘Vini Reilly’; see www.thedurutticolumn.com )

Many thanks to Epileptic Gibbon for entrusting us with another guest slot. Please leave a comment if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!) Eppy will be back for the next episode with another interesting show.

Advertisements

Permalink Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: