Episode 131: Death on the Rocks

This is the 131st edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the playlist to accompany it. CLICK HERE TO LISTEN. You can also listen via Mixcloud here. This time around Daniel & Rebsie of Alchymical Muse are sitting in for me & choosing all the music again as I focus on EppyFest 3. The show features the usual eclectic mixture of music, including a wonderful feature album from harp and drums duo Macmaster/Hay. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks to where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 1 hour and 54 minutes. Downloaded file is 105 MB.

1. Lachrimae Antiquae (4:45) – The Consort of Musicke (Anthony Rooley) (Taken from Disc 6 of ‘The Complete Works of John Dowland’; see www.hyperion-records.co.uk/a.asp?a=A1520&name=consortmusicke/)

2. Månenvæven (3:14) – Virelai (Taken from the album ‘Fra bølger og bjerge’; see www.virelai.dk/english.htm)

3. Oxygen (7:59) – Swans (Taken from the album To be Kind; see swans.pair.com/ & www.facebook.com/SwansOfficial)

4. If You Can See Me (3:12) – David Bowie (Taken from the album The Next Day; see www.davidbowie.com/ & www.facebook.com/davidbowie)

5. The Years (5:17) – Ex Reverie (Taken from the album ’The Door Into Summer′; see www.exreveriemusic.com/ & exreverie.bandcamp.com/)

As part of the new regular feature, ‘Cats’ Corner’, with jingle music composed especially by Luna Trick

6. Deffro Ar Y Llawr (3:36) – Trwbador (Taken from the EP ‘Deffro Ar Y Llawr’; see trwbador.co.uk/ & www.facebook.com/trwbador)

7. Island (4:07) – Mary Hampton (Taken from the album ‘My Mother’s Children’; see www.maryhampton.org/)

8. Lusignac (6:18) – Macmaster/Hay (Taken from the album ‘Hook’; see www.facebook.com/pages/MacmasterHay/158111410893459)

9. Solitude (5:02) – Black Sabbath (Taken from the album ‘Master of Reality’; see www.blacksabbath.com/ & www.facebook.com/BlackSabbath)

10. Planet Caravan (Planetarum Vagatio) (3:58) – Rondellus (Taken from the album ‘Sabbatum: A Medieval Tribute to Black Sabbath’; see www.rondellus.ee/)

11. Tha Mi Fo Churam (4:19) – Macmaster/Hay (Taken from the album ‘Hook’; see www.facebook.com/pages/MacmasterHay/158111410893459)

12. The Garden of Jane Delawney (4:02) – All About Eve (B-side of the ‘What Kind of Fool’ single; see julianneregan.com/julianneregan.com/welcome.html & www.goony.nl/aae/aae.htm)

As part of the feature, ‘The 80s Weren’t All Rubbish You Know!’ …

13. My Life (4:11) – Wolfgang Press (Taken from the album ‘Standing up Straight’; see 4ad.com/artists/thewolfgangpress)

14. Careering (4:09) – Peter Hammill (Taken from the album ‘PH7’; see peterhammill.com/phx/)

15. Will We Open the Heavens (3:56) Robin Williamson (Taken from the album ‘Myrrh’; see www.pigswhiskermusic.co.uk/)

16. Sonic Armada (5:05) – Air (Taken from the album ‘Le Voyage dans la Lune; see www.aircheology.com/www.youtube.com/airofficial & www.facebook.com/intairnet)

17. EppyFest 3 Promo (1:55) EppyFest 3 takes place on July 5th. You can find out more about the festival and buy tickets at eppyfest.co.uk/

18. Breton (6:23) – Macmaster/Hay (Taken from the album ‘Hook’; see www.facebook.com/pages/MacmasterHay/158111410893459)

19.  Hares on the Mountain (4:30) – Jonny Kearney & Lucy Farrell
(Taken from the album ‘The North Farm Sessions’; see www.facebook.com/pages/Jonny-Kearney-and-Lucy-Farrell/345951389662 & www.bbc.co.uk/music/artists/a1796e13-c383-4264-a488-1b98b90fde35)

20.  Porcelain (4:05) – Snowbird (Taken from the album ‘Moon’; see bellaunion.com/artists/snowbird/)

21. Terminus (6:31) – Jah Wobble & Marconi Union (Taken from the album ‘Anomic’; see www.marconiunion.com/www.facebook.com/marconiunion & www.30hertzrecords.com/releases/)

Many thanks as always to all the bands, musicians and listeners who make this podcast possible and specifically to Daniel & Rebsie for putting this excellent show together. Please leave a comment if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!) or if you want to have your say on anything else connected to this podcast. If you want to keep up to date with news about this podcast, EppyFest, or just chat with other listeners, don’t forget that there’s a Facebook group – just search for the Eppy Gibbon Podcast Show on Facebook and request to join. Next time I’ll be back, post-EppyFest, and I’ll be doing a half-term report about the wonderful releases that 2014 has brought us so far, so I hope you’ll come back for that. And don’t forget to buy tickets for EppyFest via eppyfest.co.uk/


Episode 43: Diamond Cut Diamond

This is the forty-third edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show. CLICK HERE TO LISTEN. This episode is guest presented by Rebsie Fairholm and Daniel Staniforth of Alchymical Muse and provides the usual eclecticism and musical sparks you’ve come to expect from the Eppy podcast. The feature album this time around is Love and Reason’ by Edinburgh-based harp and percussion duo Macmaster/Hay, an album which combines traditional Scottish/Gaelic music with their own original material in a very fresh new setting. In addition, you’ll hear orchestral, psych folk, moon worship, atonal aquatic, gypsy folk, quirky pop and much more from the US, Spain, Germany and the UK. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks to where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time:  1 hour and 20 minutes. Downloaded file is 73.5 MB.

1. Grotesqueries for Orchestra IV (2:09) – Soulima (See: http://johnmcintyre.net/ ; pieces can be downloaded at http://www.icompositions.com/artists/soulima )

2. Vortex (4:21) – Golden Death Music (see: http://www.myspace.com/goldendeathmusic )

3.  Thograinn Thograinn (3:34) – Macmaster/Hay (Taken from the album ‘Love And Reason’;  see http://www.myspace.com/macmasterhay )

4.  Black Sarah (4:49) – Tinkerscuss (Taken from the album ‘Nine Trees’;  see http://www.myspace.com/tinkerscuss )

5.  The Dream (5:29 ) – Rachel Kenedy (See: http://www.rachelkenedy.tk/ and http://www.myspace.com/rachelkenedy )

6.  Dawn Comes For Us All (6:45) – Ex Reverie (Taken from the album ‘The Door Into Summer’;  see www.exreverie.com or www.myspace.com/exreverie )

7.  Palladium [Night]  (2:48) – sToa (Taken from the album ‘Silmand’; see http://www.stoa.de )

8.  Pibroch (6:36) – Macmaster/Hay (Taken from the Album ‘Love And Reason’;  see http://www.myspace.com/macmasterhay )

9.  A Sea of Dreams (3:38) – Persona (Taken from the album ‘Ruïnes’; see http://www.personaband.net/ )

10.  Home and Somewhere Else…  (3:20) – Mimicking Birds (See http://www.myspace.com/natelacy )

11.  I Can’t Contain Myself (3:30) – slumbering (Taken from the album ‘Songalong… ‘; see http://macidol.com/jamroom/slumbering/ )

12.  Soraidh Leis a Bhreacan Ùr (3:54) – Macmaster/Hay (Taken from the album ‘Love And Reason’; see http://www.myspace.com/macmasterhay )

13.  He Gives His Beloved Certain Rhymes (5:06) – North Sea Radio Orchestra (Taken from the album ‘North Sea Radio Orchestra’; see http://nsro.co.uk/ )

14.  A Moon Vigil (11:31) – Pia Silvi (Taken from the EP ‘The Meditations 1 to 3’; see http://www.piasilvi.com/ )