Episode 207: The Secrets Broker

June 1, 2017 at 9:03 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , )

This is the 207th edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the playlist to accompany it. You may be able to CLICK HERE TO LISTEN but note the shows are large files & this may not be the best way to listen. If you prefer, you can subscribe to the show via iTunes by sticking feeds2.feedburner.com/TheEpilepticGibbonPodcastMusicShow into the ‘Subscribe to podcast’ area & then you’ll get the new shows as they become available. The show is also available to stream via Mixcloud and the Progzilla Radio Network (the show appears on Progzilla in alternate weeks). Your regular host is currently snowed under with work, so Daniel Staniforth and Rebsie Fairholm are kindly sitting in again to present one of their takes on Eppy Gibbon music. The feature artist is Dick Langford, and there will be three tracks from his various projects. Otherwise you can expect the usual diverse selection of styles and genres. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks from where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 2 hours & 7 minutes. Downloaded file is 116 MB.

1. Sunrise (Eyes of the Young) (4:05) – Flaming Lips (Taken from the album ‘Oczy Mlody’; see www.flaminglips.com)

2. Benzaiten (God of Music and Water) (3:37) – Osamu Kitajima (Taken from the album ‘Benzaiten’; see www.eastquest.com)

3. Metamorphosis: I’m Going to Make a Cake (3:41) – Lavinia Meijer (Taken from the album ‘Philip Glass: Metamorphosis’; see www.laviniameijer.com)

4. Knocker Boys (4:26) – Tricks Upon Travellers (Dick Langford) (Taken from the album ‘From Another Plaice’; see store.cdbaby.com/cd/tricksut2www.facebook.com/amokoperatut)

5. Mirage (3:18) – Moondog (Taken from the album ‘A New Sound of an Old Instrument’; see www.moondogscorner.de/www.last.fm/music/Moondog)

6. Back Street Luv (3:37) – Curved Air (Taken from the album ‘Second Album’; see www.curvedair.com)

7. Jesus Christ Pose (5:51) – Soundgarden (Taken from the album ‘Badmotorfinger’; see www.soundgardenworld.com)

8. Sugar for the Pill (4:31) – Slowdive (Taken from the album ‘Slowdive’; see www.slowdiveofficial.com)

9. Marv Pontkalleg (3:38) – Alan Stivell (Taken from the album ‘Renaissance of the Celtic Harp’; see www.alanstivell.bzh)

10. Me and My Woman (13:04) – Roy Harper (Taken from the album ‘Stormcock’; see www.royharper.co.uk)

As part of the semi-regular feature, ‘The 80s Weren’t All Rubbish You Know!’ …

11. Black Houses (5:12) – Modern English (Taken from the album ‘Mesh & Lace’; see www.modernenglish.me)

12. Vote For Me (5:52) – Dick Langford (Taken from the album ‘Amokopera’ (not yet released); see www.facebook.com/amokoperatut/)

13. Wondering (4:12) – Xiu Xiu (Taken from the album ‘Forget’; see www.xiuxiu.org)

14. Bride Divine (3:32) – Robbie Basho (Taken from the album ‘Zarthus’; www.robbiebasho-archives.info)

15. Houses (3:35) – Søren (Taken from yet to be released album ‘Stargazing’; see www.youtube.com)

16. The Skater (3:24) – Midwinter (Taken from the album ‘The Waters of Sweet Sorrow’; see www.progarchives.com/artist.asp?id=2003)

17. Human God (5:23) – Marvin B. Naylor (Taken from the album ‘The Spiral Sky’; see marvinbnaylor.com & marvinbnaylormusic.bandcamp.com)

18. Brown Bread (3:29) – Dick Langford (Taken from the album ‘Amokopera’ (not yet released); see www.facebook.com/amokoperatut/)

19. Leaf and Stream (4:06) – Wishbone Ash (Taken from the album ‘Argus’; see wishboneash.com)

20. Cold is Being (3:05) – Renaissance (Taken from the album ‘Turn of the Cards’; see renaissancetouring.com)

21. Baker St. Muse (16:42) – Jethro Tull (Taken from the album ‘Minstrel in the Gallery’; see jethrotull.com)

Thanks to all the musicians who contributed and to all listeners, and a special thanks to Daniel & Rebsie for sitting in. Send us comments if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!). If you want to keep up to date with news about the show, EppyFest, or just chat with other listeners, don’t forget that there’s a Facebook group – just search for the Eppy Gibbon Podcast Show on Facebook and request to join, plus don’t forget that we’re now part of the Progzilla Radio Network. Eppy should be be back next time with a preview of EppyFest Mini, so we hope you’ll be back to listen to the next edition of the show.

Permalink Leave a Comment

Episode 183: Never Been Played

June 30, 2016 at 9:31 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

This is the 183rd edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the playlist to accompany it. CLICK HERE TO LISTEN. The show is also available via Mixcloud here and the Progzilla Radio Network (the show is now appearing on Progzilla in alternate weeks). On this show I’ll be featuring nothing but music from bands, acts & artists we’ve never played on the show before. This includes some new bands/acts, some classic bands/acts, & some that have been around for a while but I just haven’t got into them or played them before now. As part of this our feature album is ‘Singles’, the original soundtrack album for the film of the same name, and therefore you’ll hear three tracks from that. Otherwise you can expect the usual diverse selection of styles and genres, with some tracks dedicated to or inspired by friends and listeners, & the rest coming entirely from me. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks from where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 2 hours & 34 minutes. Downloaded file is 141.25 MB.

1. Shango (2:40) – Mothertongue (Taken from the album ‘Unsongs’; see  www.mothertongue.me.uk/, www.facebook.com/mothertongued, & mothertonguemusic.bandcamp.com/album/unsongs)

2. Deep Six Textbook (5:39) – Let’s Eat Grandma (Taken from the album ‘I Gemini’; see letseatgrandma.co.uk/, www.transgressiverecords.com/news/detail/lets-eat-grandma-announce-album-i-gemini & www.facebook.com/thelegofgrandma/)

3. Island (5:34) – Gadi Caplan (Taken from the album ‘Morning Sun’; see  www.gadicaplan.com/www.facebook.com/pages/Gadi-Caplan/176562585740440)

4. Seasons (5:48) – Chris Cornell (Taken from the album ‘Singles: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack’; chriscornell.com/)

5. Axe Victim (5:15) – Be Bop Deluxe (Taken from the album ‘Axe Victim’; see  www.billnelson.com/home.php)

6. It’s Just Forever (3:30) – Cage The Elephant Feat. Alison Mosshart (Taken from the album ‘Melophobia’; see www.cagetheelephant.com & www.facebook.com/cagetheelephant/)

7. Passion (4:24) – Yoshida Brothers (Taken from the album ‘Best Of Yoshida Brothers – Tsugaru Shamisen’; see www.domomusicgroup.com/yoshidabrothers/index.php)

8. Dropped (4:57) – Atoms For Peace (Taken from the album ‘Amok’; see atomsforpeace.info/ & www.facebook.com/atomsforpeace)

9. Marshes (Radio Edit) (4:17) – Rozi Plain (Taken from the album ‘Friend Of A Friend’; see roziplain.co.uk/ & www.facebook.com/roziplain/)

10. Noble Nobles (3:34) – Esperanza Spalding (Taken from the album ‘Emily’s D+Evolution’; see www.esperanzaspalding.com/#emily & www.facebook.com/EsperanzaSpalding/)

11. Chloe Dancer/Crown Of Thorns (8:19) – Mother Love Bone (Taken from the album ‘Singles: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack’; see en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mother_Love_Bone)

12. Intro (4:38) – Alt-J (Taken from the album ‘This Is All Yours’; see www.altjband.com/ & www.facebook.com/altJ.band)

13. All Is Harvest (6:39) – Amorphous Androgynous (Taken from the album ‘Alice In Ultraland’; see www.fsoldigital.com/ & www.facebook.com/theamorphousandrogynous/)

As part of the semi-regular feature, ‘Cats’ Corner’ …

14. Weird Cat (5:39) – GoGo Penguin (Taken from the album ‘Man Made Object’; see gogopenguin.co.uk/www.facebook.com/Gogopenguin)

15. Bluejay (4:19) – Penguin Cafe (Taken from the album ‘The Red Book’; see penguincafe.com/www.facebook.com/ThePenguinCafe)

16. Rifferama (2:56) – Hatfield And The North (Taken from the album ‘Hatfield And The North’; see www.hatfieldandthenorth.co.uk/)

As part of the semi-regular feature, ‘The 80s Weren’t All Rubbish You Know!’ …

17. Now Those Days Are Gone (3:31) – Bucks Fizz (Taken from the album ‘Bucks Fizz Classic Collection 1981-1985’; see www.bucksfizz.co.uk/)

18. Better Than Ever (4:50) – Jimi Tenor (Taken from the album ‘Out of Nowhere’; see www.jimitenor.com/)

19. Birth Ritual (6:08) – Soundgarden (Taken from the album ‘Singles: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack’; see www.soundgardenworld.com/www.facebook.com/Soundgarden)

20. Compte rendu d’analyse (8:48) – Albert Marcoeur (Taken from the album ‘Ma vie avec elles’; see www.labelfreres.com/home.php?id=0&it=2&fr=0, www.cdbaby.com/Artist/AlbertMarcoeur & www.progarchives.com/artist.asp?id=3028)

21. Les Hommes Sont Venus (4:19) – Magma (Taken from the album ‘Félicité Thösz’; see www.seventhrecords.com/)

22. Mr. Blue Sky (5:06) – Electric Light Orchestra (Taken from the album ‘Out of the Blue’; see jefflynneselo.com & www.facebook.com/officialjefflynne)

23. EppyFest 5 promo (2:44); see eppyfest.co.uk/ for more details about the festival and buying tickets

24. Dead Dodo Down (3:10) – Purson (Taken from the album ‘Desire’s Magic Theatre’; see www.purson.co.uk/ & www.facebook.com/pursontheband)

25. Kilten Castle (5:22) – Jack Lancaster (Taken from the album ‘Skinningrove Bay’; see www.cdbaby.com/Artist/JackLancaster)

26. Opus 32 (7:04) – Cthulhu Rise (Taken from the album ‘42’; see cthulhurise.com/, cthulhurise.bandcamp.com & www.facebook.com/Cthulhu.Rise)

Thanks to all the musicians who contributed and to all listeners. Send us comments if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!). If you want to keep up to date with news about the show, EppyFest, or just chat with other listeners, don’t forget that there’s a Facebook group – just search for the Eppy Gibbon Podcast Show on Facebook and request to join, plus don’t forget that we’re now part of the Progzilla Radio Network. I’ll be busy building up to EppyFest over the next few weeks, so next time Daniel & Rebsie will be back yet again with their own wonderful take on the Eppy Gibbon show, and I’ll be back for the show after that with my half-term report of the musical year of 2016. I hope you’ll come back for those shows.

Permalink Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: