Episode 261: For Dad

This is the 261st edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the playlist to accompany it. You may be able to CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD but note the shows are large files & this may not be the best way to listen. The show is also available to stream via Mixcloud and the Progzilla Radio Network (the show appears on Progzilla in alternate weeks). This is very much an atypical edition of the show given that it is a musical tribute to my Dad who sadly passed away recently. There was not a huge overlap between my Dad’s tastes and those of a typical Eppy Gibbon playlist, but I’ve tried to balance things out so you can still expect a typically eclectic mixture of music, including several tracks that my Dad loved and others that have some connection with him, however tenuous. There’s no feature album this time around, but hopefully you will find much to enjoy on the show all the same. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks from where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 1 hour and 44 minutes. Downloaded file is 95.2 MB.

1. Main Titles (2:20) – The Ron Grainer Orchestra (Taken from the album ‘The Prisoner [File #1]’; see www.amazon.co.uk/Prisoner-File-1-Various-Artists/dp/B00006C2OI)

2. Blue Light, Red Light (Someone’s There) (3:29) – Harry Connick Jr. (Taken from the album ‘Blue Light, Red Light’; see www.harryconnickjr.com & www.facebook.com/harryconnickjr/)

3. We’ll Be Together Again (4:27) – Frank Sinatra (Taken from the album ‘Songs for Swingin’ Lovers’; see www.sinatra.com/ & www.facebook.com/sinatra/)

4. Ravel’s Bolero (6:07) – Echo Park Orchestra (Taken from the album ‘Hymns of the Black Flag’; see echoparkorchestra.bandcamp.com/album/hymns-of-the-black-flag & www.echoparkorchestra.com/)

5. Dovedale (9:00) – The Quill (Taken from the album ‘The Tower at Hunter’s Moon’; see thequillmusic.bandcamp.com/album/the-tower-at-hunters-moon & www.facebook.com/thequillmusic/)

6. Rhapsody on a theme of Paganini Var. XVIII – Rachmaninoff (2:59) – Luke Faulkner (Taken from the album ‘Rêverie’; see lukefaulkner.bandcamp.com/album/r-verie, www.lukefaulkner.com & www.facebook.com/lukefaulknermusic/)

7. It Would Never Have Worked (live) (2:39) – Victoria Wood (Taken from the album ‘Victoria Wood: Live′; see en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Victoria_Wood)

8. Titoli (2:57) – Ennio Morricone (Taken from the album ‘Fistful of Dollars’; see www.enniomorricone.org/ & www.facebook.com/maestroenniomorricone/)

9. Rhapsody in blue – Gershwin (16:03) – Carl-August Bünte & Pro Musica Symphony Orchestra (Taken from the album ‘The Gershwin Collection’; see gershwin.com/)

10. Escape (The Pina Colada Song) (3:53) – Rupert Holmes (Taken from the album ‘Escape…The Best Of’; see www.rupertholmes.com/index.htm)

11. Sòdhaigh (4:30) – James Lindsay (Taken from the album ‘Strand’; see jameslindsaymusic.com/jameslindsaymusic.bandcamp.comwww.facebook.com/jameslmusic)

12. Soul Limbo (2:22) – Booker T & The MGs (Taken from the album ‘Soul Limbo’; see bookert.com/)

13. Orinoco Flow (4:29) – Enya (Taken from the album ‘The Very Best Of Enya’; see enya.com & www.facebook.com/officialenya/)

14. Song for Guy (6:50) – Elton John (Taken from the album ‘A Single Man’; see www.eltonjohn.com)

A few words from Katharine Blake about the new album by Mediaeval Baebes…

15. Georgie Porgie/Girls and Boys (2:47) – Mediaeval Baebes (Taken from the album ‘A Pocketful of Posies’; see mediaevalbaebes.bandcamp.com, www.mediaevalbaebes.com & www.facebook.com/mediaevalbaebes/)

16. Father, Son (4:56) – Peter Gabriel (Taken from the album ‘OVO’; see petergabriel.com)

17. Daddy’s Song (2:30) – The Monkees (Taken from the album ‘Head’; see www.monkees.com/ & www.monkees.net/)

18. My Way (4:35) – Frank Sinatra (Taken from the compilation album ‘Ultimate Sinatra’; see www.sinatra.com/ & www.facebook.com/sinatra/)

19. Chariots Of Fire (3:29) – Vangelis (Taken from the compilation album ‘The Collection; see elsew.com/)

Thanks to all the musicians who contributed, to all listeners, and most of all to my dear departed Dad and to everyone who has been supportive and kind to me and my family over the past few months. Send us comments if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!). If you want to keep up to date with news about the show, EppyFest, or just chat with other listeners, don’t forget that there’s a Facebook group – just search for the Eppy Gibbon Podcast Show on Facebook and request to join, plus don’t forget that we’re now part of the Progzilla Radio Network. I’ll be back next time with a more typical show as it’ll be my half-term report, as I play what I regard to be some of the best music of 2019 so far. I hope you’ll join me for that.

Advertisements

Episode 255: EppyFest 8 Preview

This is the 255th edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the playlist to accompany it. You should be able to CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD but note the shows are large files. Unfortunately the iTunes subscription no longer appears to be working so either download the show via the link above, or stream the show via Mixcloud (if you become a follower you can find out whenever I add new shows there) and the show can also be found on the Progzilla Radio Network (the show appears on Progzilla in alternate weeks). The main focus for this show is to preview my own upcoming live music event EppyFest 8, happening in Cheltenham on the evening of Saturday 20th July at Smokey Joe’s. You’ll hear tracks from all four of the acts playing at EppyFest this year, including a feature album, ‘Interconnected’, the latest album by Tim Burness who will, along with his band, be headlining EppyFest 8. We’ll also cover the usual diverse selection of styles and genres, as we feature music from bands/acts who have played at previous EppyFests, play some tracks connected to this year’s Winter’s End Festival & Cheltenham Jazz Festival, & there’s also some music I’ll be playing, well, just because I really like it, basically. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks from where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 2 hours & 2 minutes. Downloaded file is 111.7 MB.

1. Drum Chant (4:16) – Laurence Pike (Taken from the album ‘Holy Spring’; see www.laurencepike.net & laurencepike.bandcamp.com/album/holy-spring)   

2. Small Hours (8:46) – John Martyn (Taken from the album ‘One World’; see www.johnmartyn.info)

3. Electric Energy (4:36) – Tim Burness (Taken from the album ‘Interconnected′; see timburness.bandcamp.com/album/interconnected, www.timburness.comwww.facebook.com/pages/Tim-Burness/195607947167604)

To buy tickets for Tim’s headline performance at EppyFest 8 on Saturday 20th July, head to www.eppyfest.co.uk)  

4. Steer By The Stars (4:09) – Rebsie Fairholm & Marvin B Naylor (Not currently available to buy, this track is likely to appear on the next Rebsie Fairholm solo album; see rebsiefairholm.co.uk & marvinbnaylor.com/)

5. Pavilion (5:43) – Longstone (Taken from the album ‘Pavilion’; see longstone.bandcamp.comwww.facebook.com/Longstone-35010211805/)

6. Skydive (5:45) – Sanguine Hum (Taken from the album ‘Now We Have Power′; see sanguinehum.bandcamp.com/album/now-we-have-power-2, www.sanguinehum.com, music.badelephant.co.ukwww.facebook.com/SanguineHum/)

7. Obsolescence Pt.i Sunrise (3:40) – Abel Ganz (Taken from the album ‘Abel Ganz’; see abelganz.bandcamp.com/album/abel-ganz & www.facebook.com/pages/Abel-Ganz/104282746280548)

8. Godzilla (4:49) – Vels Trio (Taken from the EP ‘Yellow Ochre’; see velstrio.bandcamp.com/album/yellow-ochre & www.facebook.com/velstrio/)

9. Blue By You (3:24) – Marvin B. Naylor (Taken from the album ‘The Stargazer’s Symphonium’; see marvinbnaylormusic.bandcamp.com/album/the-stargazers-symphonium & marvinbnaylor.com/)

10. Kabuki Live (7:09) – Longstone (Taken from the album ‘Pavilion’; see longstone.bandcamp.comwww.facebook.com/Longstone-35010211805/)

11. Still Mumbling (3:28) – Tim Burness (Taken from the album ‘Interconnected′; see timburness.bandcamp.com/album/interconnected, www.timburness.comwww.facebook.com/pages/Tim-Burness/195607947167604)

12. Blackbirds and Thrushes (3:51) – Rebsie Fairholm (Taken from the album ‘Mind The Gap’; see rebsiefairholm.bandcamp.com/album/mind-the-gap & www.rebsiefairholm.co.uk/)

13. The Flower (2:58) – North Sea Radio Orchestra (Taken from the album ‘Gap Species’; see northsearadioorchestra.bandcamp.com/album/gap-species, www.nsro.co.uk/ & www.facebook.com/northsearadioorchestra)

14. Tubular Rainbows (7:10) – Neil Campbell (Taken from the album ‘Last Year’s News’; see neilcampbell.bandcamp.com/album/last-years-news & www.neilcampbell.org.uk/)

15. Pitter-Patter (5:15) – Rymden (Taken from the album ‘Reflections and Odysseys’; see rymden3.bandcamp.com & www.facebook.com/rymdenmusic/)

As part of the feature ‘The 80s Weren’t All Rubbish You Know’:

16. Masquerade (4:48) – Swing Out Sister (Taken from the album Kaleidoscope World’; see www.swingoutsister.com/ & www.facebook.com/swingoutsister/)

17. Phosphor (3:04) – Sanguine Hum (Taken from the album ‘The Weight Of The World’; see sanguinehum.bandcamp.com/album/the-weight-of-the-world, www.sanguinehum.com & www.facebook.com/SanguineHum/)

18. Ants (4:29) – Tim Burness (Taken from the album ‘Interconnected′; see timburness.bandcamp.com/album/interconnected, www.timburness.comwww.facebook.com/pages/Tim-Burness/195607947167604)

For more information and/or to buy tickets for EppyFest 8 on Saturday 20th July, head to www.eppyfest.co.uk)  

19. The Downpour (5:06) – Exploring Birdsong (Single available to download via exploringbirdsong.bandcamp.com; see also www.facebook.com/ExploringBirdsong/ & you can see Exploring Birdsong live at the Winter’s End Progressive Rock Festival on April 6th – see www.winters-end.co.uk for more details)

20. Les Fleurs (3:16) Minnie Riperton (Taken from the album Come to My Garden; see www.soulwalking.co.uk/Minnie%20Riperton.html)

21. Lost (4:44) – Firefly Burning (Taken from the album ‘Breathe Shallow’; see fireflyburning.bandcamp.com/album/breathe-shallow, www.fireflyburning.co.uk/ & www.facebook.com/fireflyburning)  

Thanks to all the musicians who contributed and to all listeners. Send us comments if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!). If you want to keep up to date with news about the show, EppyFest, or just chat with other listeners, don’t forget that there’s a Facebook group – just search for the Eppy Gibbon Podcast Show on Facebook and request to join, plus don’t forget that we’re now part of the Progzilla Radio Network. For the next show I’ll be back again with a very special show for me personally as we’ll be celebrating the life and musical loves of my late friend and regular Eppy Gibbon listener, Ed Elloway, so I hope you’ll join me for that.