Episode 207: The Secrets Broker

June 1, 2017 at 9:03 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , )

This is the 207th edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the playlist to accompany it. You may be able to CLICK HERE TO LISTEN but note the shows are large files & this may not be the best way to listen. If you prefer, you can subscribe to the show via iTunes by sticking feeds2.feedburner.com/TheEpilepticGibbonPodcastMusicShow into the ‘Subscribe to podcast’ area & then you’ll get the new shows as they become available. The show is also available to stream via Mixcloud and the Progzilla Radio Network (the show appears on Progzilla in alternate weeks). Your regular host is currently snowed under with work, so Daniel Staniforth and Rebsie Fairholm are kindly sitting in again to present one of their takes on Eppy Gibbon music. The feature artist is Dick Langford, and there will be three tracks from his various projects. Otherwise you can expect the usual diverse selection of styles and genres. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks from where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 2 hours & 7 minutes. Downloaded file is 116 MB.

1. Sunrise (Eyes of the Young) (4:05) – Flaming Lips (Taken from the album ‘Oczy Mlody’; see www.flaminglips.com)

2. Benzaiten (God of Music and Water) (3:37) – Osamu Kitajima (Taken from the album ‘Benzaiten’; see www.eastquest.com)

3. Metamorphosis: I’m Going to Make a Cake (3:41) – Lavinia Meijer (Taken from the album ‘Philip Glass: Metamorphosis’; see www.laviniameijer.com)

4. Knocker Boys (4:26) – Tricks Upon Travellers (Dick Langford) (Taken from the album ‘From Another Plaice’; see store.cdbaby.com/cd/tricksut2www.facebook.com/amokoperatut)

5. Mirage (3:18) – Moondog (Taken from the album ‘A New Sound of an Old Instrument’; see www.moondogscorner.de/www.last.fm/music/Moondog)

6. Back Street Luv (3:37) – Curved Air (Taken from the album ‘Second Album’; see www.curvedair.com)

7. Jesus Christ Pose (5:51) – Soundgarden (Taken from the album ‘Badmotorfinger’; see www.soundgardenworld.com)

8. Sugar for the Pill (4:31) – Slowdive (Taken from the album ‘Slowdive’; see www.slowdiveofficial.com)

9. Marv Pontkalleg (3:38) – Alan Stivell (Taken from the album ‘Renaissance of the Celtic Harp’; see www.alanstivell.bzh)

10. Me and My Woman (13:04) – Roy Harper (Taken from the album ‘Stormcock’; see www.royharper.co.uk)

As part of the semi-regular feature, ‘The 80s Weren’t All Rubbish You Know!’ …

11. Black Houses (5:12) – Modern English (Taken from the album ‘Mesh & Lace’; see www.modernenglish.me)

12. Vote For Me (5:52) – Dick Langford (Taken from the album ‘Amokopera’ (not yet released); see www.facebook.com/amokoperatut/)

13. Wondering (4:12) – Xiu Xiu (Taken from the album ‘Forget’; see www.xiuxiu.org)

14. Bride Divine (3:32) – Robbie Basho (Taken from the album ‘Zarthus’; www.robbiebasho-archives.info)

15. Houses (3:35) – Søren (Taken from yet to be released album ‘Stargazing’; see www.youtube.com)

16. The Skater (3:24) – Midwinter (Taken from the album ‘The Waters of Sweet Sorrow’; see www.progarchives.com/artist.asp?id=2003)

17. Human God (5:23) – Marvin B. Naylor (Taken from the album ‘The Spiral Sky’; see marvinbnaylor.com & marvinbnaylormusic.bandcamp.com)

18. Brown Bread (3:29) – Dick Langford (Taken from the album ‘Amokopera’ (not yet released); see www.facebook.com/amokoperatut/)

19. Leaf and Stream (4:06) – Wishbone Ash (Taken from the album ‘Argus’; see wishboneash.com)

20. Cold is Being (3:05) – Renaissance (Taken from the album ‘Turn of the Cards’; see renaissancetouring.com)

21. Baker St. Muse (16:42) – Jethro Tull (Taken from the album ‘Minstrel in the Gallery’; see jethrotull.com)

Thanks to all the musicians who contributed and to all listeners, and a special thanks to Daniel & Rebsie for sitting in. Send us comments if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!). If you want to keep up to date with news about the show, EppyFest, or just chat with other listeners, don’t forget that there’s a Facebook group – just search for the Eppy Gibbon Podcast Show on Facebook and request to join, plus don’t forget that we’re now part of the Progzilla Radio Network. Eppy should be be back next time with a preview of EppyFest Mini, so we hope you’ll be back to listen to the next edition of the show.


Permalink Leave a Comment

Episode 14: The Outsider

May 30, 2008 at 11:40 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , )

Well, here we are at the fourteenth edition of the Epileptic Gibbon Podcast Music Show, with guest presenter Rebsie Fairholm. CLICK HERE TO LISTEN. This particular show contains well over an hour of music by independent artists from the UK, the US, France and Iraq. This month’s feature album is the rock opera ‘Amokopera’ by Dick Langford (co-written with Graeme Hobbs). Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks from where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 1 hour 45 minutes. Downloaded file is 96.3 MB.

1. The Wrong Sky (4:55) – Steve Craig and Philip VanDusen (available as a free download from www.macjams.com/artist/echoroom)

2. Little PC (2:48) – Project Adorno (Taken from the album ‘Underground Overdue’ ; see www.projectadorno.net)

3. It’s A Rotten Job (3:21) – Dick Langford (Taken from the forthcoming rock opera ‘Amokopera’; www.soundclick.com/amokopera)

4. Old Joe Boney (3:07) – RG Paddler (available as a free download from www.macjams.com/artist/paddler)

5. A Free Ride to the Sun (3:19) – Scott Helland (Taken from the album ‘Brocade’ ; see www.thegypsynomads.com)

6. You and Me Against a World of Pain (5:35) – Phideaux (Taken from the album ‘The Great Leap’ ; see www.bloodfish.com)

7. Our Children Will Thank Us (8:40) – Tricks Upon Travellers (Taken from the album ‘Where the Skeletons Dance’ ; see www.cdbaby.com/cd/tricksut1)

8. The Loneliest Ghost (4:14) – Slumbering (available as a free download from www.macjams.com/artist/slumbering)

9. What Will You Do? (5:34) – Lisa Purdy, Jim Bouchard & Michael2 (available as a free download from www.macjams.com/artist/ledebutant)

10. Furies (2:41) – Magicfolk (Taken from the album ‘Magicfolk’ ; see www.magicfolk.co.uk)

11. Nobody Loves You When You’re Old (3:38) – Dick Langford (Taken from the forthcoming rock opera ‘Amokopera’; www.soundclick.com/amokopera)

12. Ode To Sutton (2:24) – Project Adorno (Taken from the album ‘Underground Overdue’ ; see www.projectadorno.net)

13. Festival of Kites (4:45) – Tim de Ferrars (available as a free download from www.soundclick.com/themiskicks)

14. Beirut (2:05) – Arborea (Taken from the album ‘Wayfaring Summer’ ; see arboreamusic.blogspot.co.uk/)

15. My Town (8:15) – Yeman Auf Al-Rawi (not currently available)

16. Girl On A Wing (4:07) – Vic Holman (available as a free download from www.macjams.com/artist/Vic+Holman)

17. Heroes (6:10) – Parichayaka (available as a free download from www.macjams.com/artist/parichayaka)

18. The Weaver’s Song (3:04) – Tinkerscuss (not sure where this is currently available but see www.cdbaby.com/Artist/Tinkerscuss for more details about where you can hear and purchase their music)

19. Brown Bread (3:29) – Dick Langford (Taken from the forthcoming rock opera ‘Amokopera’; www.soundclick.com/amokopera)

20. Let’s Have A Revolution (2:49) – Country John (available as a free download from www.macjams.com/artist/country+john)

Big thanks to all the artists and listeners who make this show possible. And do drop us a comment and let us know what you think! Feedback is always welcome. Epileptic Gibbon returns in July, so thanks for listening to me doing my Eppy substitute.

Permalink 1 Comment

%d bloggers like this: