Episode 273: It’s A Wonderful Job

This is the 273rd edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the playlist to accompany it. You may be able to CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD but note the shows are large files & this may not be the best way to listen. The show is also available to stream via Mixcloud and the Progzilla Radio Network (the show appears on Progzilla in alternate weeks). I’d like to thank Rebsie & Daniel for putting the excellent previous show together. I’m also happy to be back to present this year’s festive edition of the show, so you can expect the usual eclectic mixture of music only this time all the tracks will have some form of wintry/Christmas/solstice theme. We have a feature album this time around, ‘Silent Night’, the 2011 album by the Nashville based harpist/singer/songwriter Timbre, so you’ll hear three tracks from that. And of course you can also expect the usual eclectic musical mix, including some new music from 2019, and some older tracks of various vintages thrown in for good measure. All-in-all expect a unique festive-themed extravaganza with lots of great music and pleasant surprises. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks from where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 2 hours and 18 minutes. Downloaded file is 126.3 MB.

1. The Way-Too-Early Christmas Song (2:54) – Paul and Storm (Available to buy as a download from the website www.paulandstorm.com/)

2. The Lamb (Variant) (3:46) – Cobalt Chapel (Taken from the album ‘Variants’; see cobaltchapel.bandcamp.com & www.facebook.com/cobaltchapel/)

3. Carol of the Bells (5:33) – Timbre (Taken from the album ‘Silent Night’; see timbre.bandcamp.com/album/silent-night & www.facebook.com/TimbreHarp/)

4. 6:00 (5:32) – Dream Theater (Taken from the album ‘Awake’; see www.dreamtheater.net)

5. Narnia (4:07) – Steve Hackett (Taken from the album ‘Please Don’t Touch’; see www.hackettsongs.com/ & www.facebook.com/Steve-Hackett-123101228589/)

As part of the feature ‘The 80s Weren’t All Rubbish You Know’:

6. The Holly And The Ivy (3:07) – Jon Anderson (Taken from the album ‘3 Ships’; see www.jonanderson.com)

7. 50 Words For Snow (8:31) – Kate Bush (Taken from the album ‘50 Words For Snow’; see www.katebush.com/)

8. Tundra (for Cello & Double Bass) (6:53) – Daniel Staniforth (Taken from the album ‘Lone Wolf Tone’; see lunatrick.bandcamp.com/album/lone-wolf-tone & www.flowforth.com/)

9. Drumless (3:51) – Fredo Viola (Not currently commercially available to my knowledge; see www.fredoviola.com/ & fredoviola.bandcamp.com/)

10. Let It Snow (2:46) – Magnet (Taken from the ‘Minus’ EP; see www.magnetmusic.no/)

11. Asleep Under The Winter Stars (5:43) – Winterhelm (Taken from the EP ‘At The End Of Autumn’; see hermitmoonrecords.bandcamp.com/album/at-the-end-of-autumn)

12. Figgy Pud (3:40) – a.P.A.t.T. (Taken from the album ‘The Essential Now That’s What I Call an a.P.A.t.T. Christmas Vol 1’; see apatt.bandcamp.com/album/the-essential-now-thats-what-i-call-an-a-p-a-t-t-christmas-vol-1, www.apatt.com/, & www.facebook.com/aPAtTpage)

13. Christmas With The Devil (4:32) – Spinal Tap (Taken from the album ‘Break Like The Wind’; see spinaltapfan.com/)

14. This Winter’s Child (4:32) – Potter’s Daughter (CD Single; see pottersdaughterband.com & officialpottersdaughter.bandcamp.com/album/this-winters-child)

15. The Frozen Palace at Mt. Glyph (3:40) – Stig (Taken from the album ‘The Unrealist’; see stigmusic.bandcamp.com/album/the-unrealist & www.facebook.com/stigwave)

16. What Child Is This? (6:12) – Timbre (Taken from the album ‘Silent Night’; see timbre.bandcamp.com/album/silent-night & www.facebook.com/TimbreHarp/)

17. Percy The Penguin (3:43) – Stackridge (Taken from the album ‘Stackridge’; see jameswarrensongwriter.uk/stackridge)

18. The North Wind Doth Blow (3:06) – Mediaeval Baebes (Taken from the album ‘A Pocketful of Posies’; see mediaevalbaebes.bandcamp.com, www.mediaevalbaebes.com & www.facebook.com/mediaevalbaebes/)

19. Christmas Crossword (2:13) – Penny Klein (Taken from the album ‘The Surround Christmas Album’; see the-surround.bandcamp.com/album/the-surround-christmas-album)

20. Christmas Medley Piano Solo (2:57) – John Stebbe (This track is not currently available to download but for more jazz piano Christmas music see www.cdbaby.com/cd/johnstebbe2)

21. Sleigh Ride (1:59) – a.P.A.t.T. (Taken from the album ‘The Essential Now That’s What I Call an a.P.A.t.T. Christmas Vol 1’; see apatt.bandcamp.com/album/the-essential-now-thats-what-i-call-an-a-p-a-t-t-christmas-vol-1, www.apatt.com/, & www.facebook.com/aPAtTpage)

22. Gaudete (3:58) – Heather Findlay Quartet (Single, not currently commercially available to my knowledge; see www.heatherfindlay.co.uk)

23. Snow Feather (5:36) – Surya Kris Peters (Taken from the album ‘The Hermit’; see electricmagicrecords.bandcamp.com/album/the-hermit)

24. Let All Mortal Flesh Keep Silence (4:39) – Timbre (Taken from the album ‘Silent Night’; see timbre.bandcamp.com/album/silent-night & www.facebook.com/TimbreHarp/)

25. A Winter’s Tale (5:13) – Jade Warrior (Taken from the album ‘Last Autumn’s Dream’; see www.jadewarrior.com/hindex.htm)

26. Ave Maria (3:25) – Frank Sinatra (Taken from the album ‘Frank Sinatra: Christmas Songs’; see www.sinatra.com/ & www.facebook.com/sinatra/)

27. Here Comes The Sun (3:06) – The Beatles (Taken from the album ‘Abbey Road’; see www.thebeatles.com/)

28. It’s a Lovely Day Tomorrow (3:22) – Tribes of Europe & Barbara Stretch (Single available to buy via tribesofeurope.bandcamp.com/album/its-a-lovely-day-tomorrow; see also soundcloud.com/tribes-of-europe)

29. A Christmas Credit Card (Christmas in My Dreams) (2:21) – Asparagus Apocalypse & David Kaminsky (Not currently available to download)

Thanks to all the musicians who contributed and to all listeners. All the very best for the winter solstice and for Christmas! Send us comments if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!). If you want to keep up to date with news about the show, EppyFest, or just chat with other listeners, don’t forget that there’s a Facebook group – just search for the Eppy Gibbon Podcast Show on Facebook and request to join, plus don’t forget that we’re now part of the Progzilla Radio Network. Eppy will be back next time with lots of great 2019 music, plus a feature album from 2015, and the usual eclectic mixture of styles and genres, so I hope to see you then.