Episode 232: Death at Bargain Prices

This is the 232nd edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the playlist to accompany it. You may be able to CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD but note the shows are large files & this may not be the best way to listen. If you prefer, you can subscribe to the show via iTunes by sticking feeds2.feedburner.com/TheEpilepticGibbonPodcastMusicShow into the ‘Subscribe to podcast’ area & then you’ll get the new shows as they become available. The show is also available to stream via Mixcloud and the Progzilla Radio Network (the show appears on Progzilla in alternate weeks). This latest show is built around an interview with Sarah Lessire, the singer, composer and bandleader of Ions & Eras. Sarah chooses some of the music, plus our feature EP is the debut Ions & Eras release, ‘Life For A While’. There are also some previews of upcoming albums, some tracks related to EppyFest, we’ll be celebrating a couple of birthdays and we’ll have a Swedish double-bill, so you can expect to hear a typically eclectic musical mix. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks from where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 2 hours & 15 minutes. Downloaded file is 124 MB.

1. Part 2 (4:35) – Matt Baber (Taken from the forthcoming album ‘Suite For Piano and Electronics’; see mattbaber.bandcamp.com & www.badelephant.co.uk/)

You can see Matt Baber as one half of Sanguine Hum (acoustic) at EppyFest 7 on Saturday 28th July. For tickets and more information see eppyfest.co.uk

2. Errol At Twenty-three (3:58) – Jack O’ The Clock (Taken from the album ‘Repetitions of the Old City – II; see jackotheclock.bandcamp.com/, jackotheclock.com/Jack_O_The_Clock.htmlwww.facebook.com/JackOTheClock/?fref=ts)

3. The Unknown Zone (5:24) – Phil Manzanera (Single available as a free digital download via burningshed.com/store/philmanzanera; see also manzanera.com/new/ & www.brian-eno.net/)

4. Timeling (3:12) – Marvin B. Naylor (Forthcoming release, not currently available to buy; see www.marvinbnaylor.com and marvinbnaylormusic.bandcamp.com)

5. Crossing Continents (3:23) – After The Flood (Taken from the forthcoming album ‘After The Flood’; see www.facebook.com/aftertheflood1/, www.neilcampbell.org.uk/, neilcampbell.bandcamp.com/ & store.cdbaby.com/Artist/NeilCampbell)

6. Ketamine (3:49) – MoeTar (Taken from the EP ‘Final Four’; see www.moetar.com, www.magnacarta.net/moetar/ & www.facebook.com/MoeTar)

7. Prairies Of Stars (3:45) – Ions & Eras (Taken from the EP ‘Life For A While’; see ionsanderas.bandcamp.com/releases & www.facebook.com/ionsanderas/)

Interview with Sarah Lessire

8. Malika (4:56) – Hiatus Kaiyote (Taken from the album ‘Tawk Tomahawk’; see hiatuskaiyote.com/www.facebook.com/hiatuskaiyote/)

9. Tiny Straws (5:38) – Woo Park (Taken from the album ‘Smokes’; see wooparkgrooves.bandcamp.com/album/smokes & wooparkgrooves.com/)

10. Pierrot’s Dream Theater (7:00) – Ions & Eras (Taken from the EP ‘Life For A While’; see ionsanderas.bandcamp.com/releases & www.facebook.com/ionsanderas/)

11. Quiet Fire (6:44) – Mammal Hands (Taken from the album ‘Floa’; see mammalhands.bandcamp.com/album/floa & mammalhands.com/)

12. Unspeakable World (4:44) – GoGo Penguin (Taken from the album ‘Man Made Object’; see gogopenguin.co.uk/www.facebook.com/Gogopenguin)

13. Pristine Love (8:21) – Ions & Eras (Taken from the EP ‘Life For A While’; see ionsanderas.bandcamp.com/releases & www.facebook.com/ionsanderas/)

14. Such Unlikely Lovers (3:27) – Elvis Costello & Burt Bacharach (Taken from the album ‘Painted From Memory’; see bacharachonline.com/www.elviscostello.com/#/)

As part of the feature, ‘The 80s Weren’t All Rubbish You Know!’ …

15. Riding The Outskirts Of Fantasy (4:49) Ian Dury (Taken from the album ‘Apples’; see www.iandury.co.uk/)

16. Unmarked On Any Map (3:27) – Richard Wileman (Taken from the album ‘Veil’; see richardwileman.bandcamp.com/album/veilkardaestra.wordpress.com)

17. Space Between (4:25) Esse Quam Videri (Taken from the album ‘Untold Stories’; see eqv.lnk.to/untoldstories & www.facebook.com/essequamvideri7/)

18. Isis’ Adventure (dedicated to Kevin Ayers) (4:24) – Me and My Kites (B side of the single ‘The Band’, see meandmykites.bandcamp.com/album/the-band-with-tony-durant-of-fuchsia-single; see also meandmykites.bandcamp.com & www.facebook.com/meandmykites)

Thanks to all the musicians who contributed and to all listeners, plus a special thanks to Sarah Lessire for answering my questions and picking some great music. Send us comments if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!). If you want to keep up to date with news about the show, EppyFest, or just chat with other listeners, don’t forget that there’s a Facebook group – just search for the Eppy Gibbon Podcast Show on Facebook and request to join, plus don’t forget that we’re now part of the Progzilla Radio Network. Eppy will be back again next time, with part 1 of his best of the rest of 2017, so we hope to see you back for that.

Advertisements

Episode 231: Michael Bearpark interview 2018 pt.2

This is the 231st edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the playlist to accompany it. You may be able to CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD but note the shows are large files & this may not be the best way to listen. If you prefer, you can subscribe to the show via iTunes by sticking feeds2.feedburner.com/TheEpilepticGibbonPodcastMusicShow into the ‘Subscribe to podcast’ area & then you’ll get the new shows as they become available. The show is also available to stream via Mixcloud and the Progzilla Radio Network (the show appears on Progzilla in alternate weeks). This latest show is built around part two of an interview with Michael Bearpark of Henry Fool, Darkroom & No-man, with Michael yet again choosing most of the music and reflecting on new discoveries and the connections between the choices and how they have intersected with key moments in his life. There’s no feature album tonight but you can expect to hear a typically eclectic musical mix. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks from where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 1 hour & 50 minutes. Downloaded file is 100.8 MB.

Interview with Michael Bearpark

1. Here Comes The Flood (3:56) – Robert Fripp and Peter Gabriel (Taken from the album ‘Exposure’; see www.dgmlive.competergabriel.com)

2. Solar Storm (6:23) – Richard Barbieri (Taken from the album ‘Planets + Persona’; see www.kscopemusic.com/artists/richard-barbieri/ & www.facebook.com/RichardBarbieriOfficial

3. Nowhere Now (4:04) – Steven Wilson (Taken from the album ‘To The Bone’; see stevenwilsonhq.com/ & www.facebook.com/StevenWilsonHQ)

4. 1921 (2:50) – The Who (Taken from the album ‘Tommy’; see www.thewho.com)

5. La Ballata De S’isposa ‘e Mannorri (6:16) – D.F.A. (Taken from the album ‘4th’; see dutyfreearea.bandcamp.com)

6. Home (4:34) – David Sylvian (Taken from the album ‘Gone to Earth’; see www.davidsylvian.com/)

As part of the feature, ‘The 80s Weren’t All Rubbish You Know!’ …

7. Hysteria (5:55) – Def Leppard (Taken from the album ‘Hysteria’; see www.defleppard.com)

8. A Magnificent Death (15:01) – Joel Harrison (Taken from the album ‘Search’; see joelharrison.comwww.facebook.com/joelharrisongtr/)

9. Jenny (Iowa Sunrise) (3:33) – Janis Ian & Chick Corea (Taken from the compilation album ‘Up ‘Til Now; see www.janisian.com)

10. Garmonbozia (4:30) – Thumpermonkey (Taken from the EP ‘Electricity’; see thumpermonkey.bandcamp.com/ & www.thumpermonkey.com/)

You can see Thumpermonkey at EppyFest 7 on Saturday 28th July. For tickets and more information see eppyfest.co.uk

11. Everybody Needs You (2:55) – Laura Veirs (Taken from the album ‘The Lookout’; see lauraveirs.bandcamp.com/album/the-lookout & lauraveirs.com)

Thanks to all the musicians who contributed and to all listeners, plus a special thanks to Michael Bearpark for coming into the studio and picking most of the music. Send us comments if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!). If you want to keep up to date with news about the show, EppyFest, or just chat with other listeners, don’t forget that there’s a Facebook group – just search for the Eppy Gibbon Podcast Show on Facebook and request to join, plus don’t forget that we’re now part of the Progzilla Radio Network. Eppy will be back again next time, with another interview and lots of great music, so we hope to see you back for that.