Episode 296: The Living Dead

This is the 296th edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the playlist to accompany it. You can CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD but note that the shows are large files. The show is also available to stream via Mixcloud and the Progzilla Radio Network (the show appears on Progzilla in alternate weeks). It’s that time of the year again so for this show we have the return of the diabolical Count Eppy Gibbon, who will again be your ghoulish host for this year’s Halloween special. We don’t quite have a feature album on this show, we do feature tracks that appeared on one of the two soundtrack albums for the TV series ‘Buffy the Vampire Slayer’, and you’ll hear three tracks from those soundtracks throughout the playlist. Other than that you can expect the usual eclectic mixture of music, only with a bit more of a spooky theme this time around. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks from where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 2 hours and 13 minutes. Downloaded file is 121.18 MB.

1. Phantoms (1:56) – Astralingua (Taken from the album ‘Safe Passage’; see astralingua.bandcamp.com/album/safe-passage, www.astralingua.com/ & www.facebook.com/Astralingua/)

2. You’re Dead (2:23) – Norma Tanega (Taken from the album ‘Walkin’ My Cat Named Dog’; see www.discogs.com/artist/852942-Norma-Tanega)

3. Gather Up (2:20) – Matt Berry (Taken from the album ‘Kill the Wolf’; see www.themattberry.co.uk/ & www.facebook.com/mattberrymusic)

4. Devil Inside Me (3:05) – Matt Berry (Taken from the album ‘Kill the Wolf’; see www.themattberry.co.uk/ & www.facebook.com/mattberrymusic)

5. Buffy The Vampire Slayer Theme (1:05) – Nerf Herder (Taken from Buffy the Vampire Slayer: The Album; see www.nerfherder.com/ & www.facebook.com/nerfrock)

6. Bring Out Your Dead – Part 1 (9:23) – The Carpathian Inflammable Shadow Puppet Orchestra (I’m not exactly sure where this is taken from but for more information see the-cisp-orchestra.bandcamp.com)

7. Spectres (demo) (5:18) – Martin Grech (Available via Martin’s Patreon platform; see www.patreon.com/MartinGrech & www.facebook.com/Martingrechofficial/)

8. Darktown (5:00) – Steve Hackett (Taken from the album ‘Darktown’; see www.hackettsongs.com/ & www.facebook.com/Steve-Hackett-123101228589/)

9. The Other Side (3:21) – Quest Ensemble (Taken from the album The Other Side’; see qensemble.bandcamp.com/album/the-other-side, www.questensemble.co.uk/ & www.facebook.com/QuestEnsemble/)

10. Ghost Zone/Noble Obelisk (8:31) – French TV (Taken from the album ‘Stories Without Fingerprints’; see frenchtv.bandcamp.com/album/stories-without-fingerprints & www.french-tv.net)

11. Elegant Vampires (4:29) – Pattern-Seeking Animals (Taken from the album ‘Prehensile Tales’; see www.psanimals1.com & www.facebook.com/psanimals1)

12. Halloween (4:31) – Phoebe Bridgers (Taken from the album ‘Punisher′; see phoebebridgers.bandcamp.com/album/punisher & phoebefuckingbridgers.com)

13. Wo Ist Übergang (8:20) – Ben Frost (Taken from the album ‘DARK – Cycle 1 (Original Music From The Netflix Series)’; see benfrost.bandcamp.com)

14. Zombi Hut (2:56) – Tiki Tones (Taken from the album ‘The Tiki Tones Play Songs for the…Suburban Savages’; see www.discogs.com/artist/397086-The-Tiki-Tones)

15. Transylvanian Concubine (2:48) – Rasputina (Taken from Buffy the Vampire Slayer: The Album; see www.rasputina.com/ & www.facebook.com/OfficialRasputina)

16. Anaklasis (7:37) – Krzysztof Penderecki (Taken from the album ‘Kosmogonia’; see coldspring.bandcamp.com/album/kosmogonia-csr238cd)

17. Demons (5:23) – Girl Swallows Nightingale (Taken from the album ‘Shapeshifter′; see www.girlswallowsnightingale.com, girlswallowsnightingale.bandcamp.com/album/shapeshifter & www.facebook.com/GirlSwallowsNightingale/)

18. The Devil (4:21) Richard Wileman (Taken from the album ‘Arcana′; see richardwileman.bandcamp.com/album/arcana, www.richardwileman.co.uk/ & www.facebook.com/kardaestra)

19. Seance (4:15) The Left Outsides (Taken from the album ‘Are You Sure I Was There?′; see theleftoutsides.bandcamp.com/album/are-you-sure-i-was-there & www.facebook.com/theleftoutsides/)

20. Bright Hucclecote (6:07) Rebsie Fairholm & Marvin B Naylor (Single available to download now via rebsiefairholm.bandcamp.com/track/bright-hucclecote and it will also be on the forthcoming debut album by Rebsie & Marvin, ‘Like A Delicate Psychedelicat’; see also rebsiefairholm.co.uk & marvinbnaylor.com/)

21. Uneasy Dream (3:10) Lost Valley VHS (Taken from the album ‘Lost Valley VHS’; see klausmorlock.bandcamp.com/album/lost-valley-vhs

22. Black Cat Bone (4:24) Laika (Taken from the album ‘Good Looking Blues’; see www.laika.org/index_main.shtml)

23. The Faceless Undead (3:56) – Kavus Torabi (Taken from the ‘Solar Divination’ EP; see kavustorabi.bandcamp.com/releases)

24. Brocken Spectre (7:01) Elif Yalvac (Taken from the album ‘Mountains Become Stepping Stones’; see hazalelif.bandcamp.com/album/mountains-become-stepping-stones & www.facebook.com/elifyalvacmusic/)

25. Battle with Invisible Monster (2:55) Louis and Bebe Barron (Taken from the album ‘Forbidden Planet – The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack’; see itunes.apple.com/gb/album/forbidden-planet-original/id493065373 & www.effectrode.com/magnetic-delay/the-first-electronic-filmscore-forbidden-planet-a-conversation-with-bebe-barron/)

26. Luke Falling (8:51) Clark (Taken from the album ‘Daniel Isn’t Real (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)’; see www.roughtrade.com/gb/clark/daniel-isn-t-real-original-motion-picture-soundtrack & throttleclark.com

Thanks to all the musicians who contributed, to Count Eppy Gibbon, and of course to all of you listeners. Send us comments if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!). If you want to keep up to date with news about the show, EppyFest, or just chat with other listeners, don’t forget that there’s a Facebook group – just search for the Eppy Gibbon Podcast Show on Facebook and request to join, plus don’t forget that we’re now part of the Progzilla Radio Network. For the next show, in a couple of weeks’ time, we are excited to be focusing on the brand new album by favourites of the show, Sanguine Hum, with three tracks from the new album, ‘A Trace of Memory’, plus music selected by the members of the band. I hope to see you back for that.