Episode 221: Ye Bandit of Sherwood Forest

December 13, 2017 at 11:05 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , , , , , )

This is the 221st edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the playlist to accompany it. You may be able to CLICK HERE TO LISTEN but note the shows are large files & this may not be the best way to listen. If you prefer, you can subscribe to the show via iTunes by sticking feeds2.feedburner.com/TheEpilepticGibbonPodcastMusicShow into the ‘Subscribe to podcast’ area & then you’ll get the new shows as they become available. The show is also available to stream via Mixcloud and the Progzilla Radio Network (the show appears on Progzilla in alternate weeks). Your regular host is back (but many thanks to Daniel & Rebsie for the fantastic job they did on the previous show) to bring you a typically diverse and eclectic musical mix but focused on winter, the cold, the winter solstice and of course Christmas. The feature festive album is from 2010, ‘Christmas with Anúna’, which you may be surprised to learn is by the choral ensemble Anúna. You can also expect the usual diverse selection of styles and genres, albeit one themed around the time of year. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks from where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 2 hours & 8 minutes. Downloaded file is 117.3 MB.

1. The Lamb (2:44) – Cobalt Chapel (Taken from the album ‘Cobalt Chapel’; see www.facebook.com/Cobalt-Chapel-1883182601909163/ & soundcloud.com/cobalt-chapel/sets/cobalt-chapel-1)

2. Christmas Eve (Sarajevo 12/24) (3:24) – Savatage (Taken from the album ‘Dead Winter Dead’; see www.savatage.com)

3. Ding Dong Merrily on High (2:17) – Anúna (Taken from the album ‘Christmas with Anúna’; see www.anuna.ie/ & anuna.bandcamp.com/)

4. Winter Deep (6:06) – Crystal Jacqueline (Taken from the album ‘Rainflower’; see www.mega-dodo.co.uk/products/crystal-jacqueline, megadodo.bandcamp.com/album/rainflower & www.facebook.com/crystaljacquelinemusic/)

5. Winter Story (6:43) – My Tricksy Spirit (Taken from the album ‘My Tricksy Spirit’; see mytricksyspirit.badelephant.co.uk/ & www.facebook.com/mytricksyspirit/)

6. The 12 Days of Christmas (4:22) – John Denver & the Muppets (Taken from the album ‘A Christmas Together’; see muppet.wikia.com/wiki/A_Christmas_Together_(album), muppets.disney.com/ & johndenver.com/)

7. The Winter Outpost (3:08) – Paul Mallyon (Currently not available to buy but available to stream via soundcloud.com/p_mallyon/the-winter-outpost)

8. Merry Christmas Joseph Suttle (3:14) – Thumpermonkey (Taken from the album ‘Yottametre’; see thumpermonkey.bandcamp.com/ & www.thumpermonkey.com/)

9. Low Carol (2:54) – The Young Knives (Taken from the compilation album ‘Christmas Joy In Full Measure’; see handofglory.co.uk/discography/christmas-joy-in-full-measure/ & www.young-knives.com/)

10. Sanctus (4:14) – Anúna (Taken from the album ‘Christmas with Anúna’; see www.anuna.ie/ & anuna.bandcamp.com/)

11. The Holly And The Ivy (5:02) – Anne Dudley (Taken from the album ‘Ancient & Modern’; see www.annedudley.co.uk)

12. Reasonable Snow (3:58) – Dominique Leone (Taken from the album ‘Abstract Expression’; see dominiqueleone.bandcamp.com/album/abstract-expression & dominiqueleone.com/)

13. Children’s Corner: No. 4: Snowflakes Are Dancing (2:13) – Isao Tomita (Taken from the album ‘Snowflakes Are Dancing’; see isaotomita.net/)

14. Aurora Borealis (3:21) – Lemon Demon (Taken from the ‘I Am Become Christmas’ EP; see lemondemon.bandcamp.com/album/i-am-become-christmas-ep & www.lemondemon.com/)

15. I Believe in Father Christmas (4:28) – Carol Keogh and the City Fathers (Taken from the ‘Christmas EP’; see carolkeogh.bandcamp.com/album/christmas-ep & carolkeogh.ie)

As part of the semi-regular feature, ‘The 80s Weren’t All Rubbish You Know!’ …

16. Pipes Of Peace (3:56) – Paul McCartney (Taken from the album ‘Pipes Of Peace’; see www.paulmccartney.com & www.facebook.com/PaulMcCartney/)

17. Skater’s Waltz (3:41) – John Stebbe (Taken from the EP ‘A Jazz Piano Christmas’; see itunes.apple.com/us/album/a-jazz-piano-christmas-ep/id582799239 & www.cdbaby.com/cd/johnstebbe2)

18. Winter Singing (4:44) – The Imagined Village (Taken from the album ‘Bending The Dark; see www.theimaginedvillage.com/, imaginedvillage.com/ & www.facebook.com/imaginedvillage)

19. At the Death of Winter (4:05) – Ciccada (Taken from the album ‘The Finest of Miracles; see altrockproductions.bandcamp.com/album/the-finest-of-miracles)

20. La Peregrinación (3:48) – This Is The Kit (Taken from a double A-side single; see thisisthekit.co.uk/, thisisthekit.bandcamp.com/album/christmas-time-is-here-b-w-la-peregrinaci-nwww.facebook.com/thisisthekit)

21. Gabriel’s Message (live) (3:16) – Marillion (I’m not exactly sure where this version is taken from but you can find another version by the band on the album ‘A Collection of Recycled Gifts’; see marillionofficial.bandcamp.com/album/a-collection-of-recycled-gifts, marillion.com/ & en-gb.facebook.com/MarillionOfficial)

22. Angelus ad Virginem (3:34) – Anúna (Taken from the album ‘Christmas with Anúna’; see www.anuna.ie/ & anuna.bandcamp.com/)

23. As Light Filigrees the Snow (5:40) – Daniel Staniforth (Taken from the album ‘Circumpolar’; lunatrick.bandcamp.com/album/circumpolar & www.flowforth.com/)

24. Snowfall (4:27) – Johnny Unicorn (Taken from the album Heavy Jugs to the Moon’; see www.johnnyunicorn.com/ & johnnyunicorn.bandcamp.com)

25. Xmas Time (Blows My Mind) (4:30) – Savoy (This was released as a promo single; see www.electricity-club.co.uk/lifelines-the-side-projects-of-a-ha/)

26. Xmas No.1 Single (4:29) – Jeff Cummins (This is a demo of a single that was never released and is therefore not currently available to buy but you can listen to it accompanied by an animated video via www.youtube.com/watch?v=cp-tZCELpCY)

27. Silent Night (3:15) – Can (This track was (but is no longer) available as a free download; for more information about Can see the official Can/Spoon Records website at www.spoonrecords.com/#)

28. A Christmas Credit Card (Christmas in My Dreams) (2:21) – Asparagus Apocalypse & David Kaminsky (Free download available from www.macjams.com/artist/Epileptic+Gibbon; see also www.macjams.com/artist/dwwave)

Thanks to all the musicians who contributed and to all listeners. Compliments of the season to one and all! Send us comments if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!). If you want to keep up to date with news about the show, EppyFest, or just chat with other listeners, don’t forget that there’s a Facebook group – just search for the Eppy Gibbon Podcast Show on Facebook and request to join, plus don’t forget that we’re now part of the Progzilla Radio Network. Eppy will be back again for the final show of 2017, so we hope you’ll be back to listen to that so you can see out the year in fine style.

Advertisements

Permalink Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: