Episode 206: Mandrake

May 14, 2017 at 8:57 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

This is the 206th edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the playlist to accompany it. You may be able to CLICK HERE TO LISTEN but note the shows are large files & this may not be the best way to listen. If you prefer, you can subscribe to the show via iTunes by sticking feeds2.feedburner.com/TheEpilepticGibbonPodcastMusicShow into the ‘Subscribe to podcast’ area & then you’ll get the new shows as they become available. The show is also available to stream via Mixcloud and the Progzilla Radio Network (the show appears on Progzilla in alternate weeks). On this show we’ll be having a ‘normal’ show (relatively speaking) as we haven’t had one of those for a while. There will be a mixture of new and old music, including lots of tracks from new 2017 albums, plus a tribute to the late, great drummer Clive Brooks, and a return to our semi-regular 80s & Cats’ Corner features. There will be the usual eclectic mixture of music, crossing various genres and featuring bands & acts from all over the world. And we have a feature album too: ‘The Aviary’, the 2015 album from American Jazzy Mystic Katie Haverly, so you’ll hear three tracks from that. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks from where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 2 hours & 20 minutes. Downloaded file is 128 MB.

1. Ark (live) (4:39) – The Fierce And The Dead (Taken from the album ‘Field Recordings′; see tfatd.bandcamp.com/album/field-recordings-livewww.fierceandthedead.com/ & www.facebook.com/fierceandthedead?fref=ts)

2. Tarova (3:40) – Snarky Puppy (Taken from the album ‘Culcha Vulcha′; see snarkypuppy.com/ & www.facebook.com/snarkypuppy)

As part of the semi-regular feature, ‘The 80s Weren’t All Rubbish You Know!’ …

3. Doctor! Doctor! (4:39) – Thompson Twins (Taken from the album ‘Into The Gap′; see thompsontwinstombailey.co.uk/www.facebook.com/ThompsonTwinsTomBailey)

4. The Sensual Con (7:36) – Bubblemath (Taken from the album ‘Edit Peptide’; see cuneiformrecords.bandcamp.com/album/edit-peptide, www.bubblemath.com/, & www.facebook.com/bubblemath)

5. Gold Rush (5:56) – Katie Haverly (Taken from the album ‘The Aviary′; see katiehaverly.bandcamp.com/album/the-aviary & www.facebook.com/katiehaverlymusic/)

6. Surfing the Severn Bore (4:47) – The Natural History Museum (Taken from the album ‘Attenborough; see countersunk.bandcamp.com/album/attenborough & www.countersunk.org/)

7. Rolando (4:40) – Once And Future Band (Taken from the album ‘Once And Future Band’; see onceandfutureband.bandcamp.com/album/once-future-band & www.facebook.com/OnceAndFutureBand)

8. Tell Me Those Are Tears of Joy (5:20) – Once And Future Band (Taken from the album ‘Once And Future Band’; see onceandfutureband.bandcamp.com/album/once-future-band & www.facebook.com/OnceAndFutureBand)

9. A Visit To Newport Hospital (8:26) – Egg (Taken from the album ‘The Polite Force’; see www.egg-archive.com/ & www.progarchives.com/artist.asp?id=665)

10. The Cave of Rebirth (5:39) – Tigran Hamasyan (Taken from the album ‘An Ancient Observer’; see www.tigranhamasyan.com/www.facebook.com/TigranHamasyan)

11. Uleella (9:13) – Elull Noomi (Taken from the album ‘Uleella’; see www.seventhrecords.com/en/catalogue-ex-tension-33/elull-noomi-uleella-1043.html)

12. Don Juan’s Reckless Daughter (6:37)Joni Mitchell (Taken from the album ‘Don Juan’s Reckless Daughter; see jonimitchell.com/ & www.facebook.com/jonimitchellcom/)

13. Robin (4:30) – Emma Gatrill (Taken from the album ‘Cocoon’; see www.emmagatrill.com/, itunes.apple.com/gb/album/cocoon/id1213764798emmagatrill.bandcamp.com & www.facebook.com/emmagatrill

14. Ring (4:07) – Katie Haverly (Taken from the album ‘The Aviary′; see katiehaverly.bandcamp.com/album/the-aviary & www.facebook.com/katiehaverlymusic/)

15. Lungs (3:31) – Tulalah (Single, available as a digital download from tulalahmusic.bandcamp.com/track/lungs; see also www.tulalahmusic.com/, www.facebook.com/TulalahMusic & tulalahmusic.bandcamp.com)

16. Baskin’ (3:29) – Dutch Uncles (Taken from the album ‘Big Balloon’; see dutchuncles.co.uk/ & www.facebook.com/dutchuncles)

17. The Ivy Gate (7:27) – Big Big Train, feat. Judy Dyble (Taken from the album ‘Grimspound’; see bigbigtrain.com/, bigbigtrain.bandcamp.com, & www.facebook.com/bigbigtrain/)

18. Gold and Silver (3:51) – Big Hogg (Taken from the album ‘Gargoyles’; see bighogg.bandcamp.com & www.facebook.com/bighoggband)

19. Tiny Skull Sized Kingdom (6:30) – Bryan and the Aardvarks (Taken from the album ‘Sounds From The Deep Field’; see bryanandtheaardvarks.com/, bryanandtheaardvarks.bandcamp.com/album/sounds-from-the-deep-field, & www.facebook.com/bryanandtheaardvarks/)

20. Distant Summers (4:06) – Tim Bowness (Taken from the album ‘Lost in the Ghost Light’; see timbowness.co.uk/ & www.facebook.com/timbowness)

21. Storm On The Sea (5:33) – Thompson Twins (Taken from the album ‘Into The Gap′; see thompsontwinstombailey.co.uk/www.facebook.com/ThompsonTwinsTomBailey)

As part of the semi-regular feature, ‘Cats’ Corner’ …

22. Trouble (2:45) – Cat Stevens (Taken from the album ‘Footsteps In The Dark: Greatest Hits, Vol. 2′; see catstevens.com/ & www.facebook.com/YusufCatStevens/)

23. Aviary (5:53) – Katie Haverly (Taken from the album ‘The Aviary′; see katiehaverly.bandcamp.com/album/the-aviary & www.facebook.com/katiehaverlymusic/)

Thanks to everyone involved with this show, musicians and listeners alike. Send me comments if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!). If you want to keep up to date with news about the show, EppyFest, or just chat with other listeners, don’t forget that there’s a Facebook group – click on www.facebook.com/groups/eppygibbongroupmembers/ and request to join, plus don’t forget that we’re now part of the Progzilla Radio Network. For the next show Rebsie & Daniel will be kindly sitting in for me again, bringing you their own unique take on Eppy Gibbon music, so I hope you’ll come back for that.

Permalink 2 Comments

%d bloggers like this: