Episode 327: Happy New Year and David Longdon Tribute

This is the 327th edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the playlist to accompany it. You can CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD but note the shows are large files. The show is also available to stream via Mixcloud and the Progzilla Radio Network (the show appears on Progzilla in alternate weeks). I hope you enjoyed the recent festive special and that you had a good Christmas and New Year celebration, whatever you got up to. Happy New Year and welcome to the first Eppy Gibbon show of 2022. This time I’ll largely be mopping up some tracks from 2021 releases ahead of my upcoming countdown of my favourite albums of last year, so you can expect the usual eclectic mixture of music. We have a feature artist this time around, as I reflect on the sad passing of singer-songwriter and musician David Longdon, who sadly left us back on 20th November last year, and you’ll hear three tracks featuring him across the course of the show by way of tribute. You can also expect the usual eclectic musical mix, including some music from 2021, some older tracks of various vintages thrown in for good measure, and a tribute to two people we have lost recently, the late, great Michael Nesmith & Stephen Sondheim. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks from where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 2 hours and 31 minutes. Downloaded file is 138.4 MB.

1. Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick (3:44) – Ian Dury & The Blockheads (Taken from the compilation album ‘Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll’; see iandury.co.uk & www.theblockheads.com)

2. Elle I (Lovers) (3:30) – Trampoline (Taken from the album ‘All the People In This House’; see trampolinesounds.bandcamp.com/album/all-the-people-in-this-house-2, www.trampolinetheband.com, & www.facebook.com/Trampolinetheband/)

3. Summoned By Bells (9:17) – Big Big Train (Taken from the album ‘English Electric Part 1’; see bigbigtrain.bandcamp.com/album/english-electric-part-one-hi-resolution-audio, bigbigtrain.com/ & www.facebook.com/bigbigtrain/

4. Vilka šūpuļdziesma (4:10) – JUUK (Taken from the album ‘Sikspārņi’; see juuk.bandcamp.com/album/siksp-r-i-2 & www.facebook.com/grupajuuk)

5. In Cucina (5:34) – Vanishing Twin (Taken from the album ‘Ookii Gekkou’; see v-twin.bandcamp.com/album/ookii-gekkou, www.vanishingtwin.co.uk & www.facebook.com/Vanishingtwinmusic/)

6. Soft Bursts (random1) (3:51) – hhnoi (Taken from the EP ‘The Unspoilt Works, Vol. 1’; see hhnoi.bandcamp.com/album/the-unspoilt-works-vol-1)

7. Wetlands (3:35) – Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith (Taken from the album EARS; see www.kaitlynaureliasmith.com/, kaitlynaureliasmith.bandcamp.com/album/ears & www.facebook.com/kaitlynaurelia/)

8. Hollywood (5:07) – Michael Nesmith & The First National Band (Taken from the album Magnetic South (Expanded Edition); see www.videoranch3d.com)

9. It Don’t Bother Me (5:07) – Robert Plant & Alison Krauss (Taken from the album ‘Raise The Roof’; see www.plantkrauss.com)

10. Learn How To Drive (5:30) – Flanafi with Ape School (Taken from the album ‘The Knees Start To Go’; see flanafi.bandcamp.com/album/the-knees-start-to-go-2)

11. Fountain (ars amatoria) (7:28) – Lyra Pramuk & Vessel (Taken from the album ‘Delta’; see lyrapramuk.bandcamp.com/album/delta, lyrapramuk.com & www.facebook.com/lyra.000/)

12. Phase One Million (5:28) – Vanishing Twin (Taken from the album ‘Ookii Gekkou’; see v-twin.bandcamp.com/album/ookii-gekkou, www.vanishingtwin.co.uk & www.facebook.com/Vanishingtwinmusic/)

13. Spectral Mornings 2015 (Classic Mix) (5:49) – Nick Beggs, Christina Booth, Nick D’Virgilio, Steve Hackett, David Longdon, & Rob Reed (Taken from the ‘Spectral Mornings’ single; see itunes.apple.com/gb/album/spectral-mornings-2015-feat./id979378606www.youtube.com/watch?v=U49cwM7b1Wk, & www.hackettsongs.com/)

14. How The Traveller Faired (6:12) – Redbus Noface (Taken from ‘EP #1 Crumbs In The Deathbed’; see redbusnoface.bandcamp.com/album/ep-1-crumbs-in-the-deathbed)

15. Now Welcom Somer (6:15) – North Sea Radio Orchestra (Taken from the album ‘Birds; see northsearadioorchestra.bandcamp.com/album/birds, www.nsro.co.uk/www.facebook.com/northsearadioorchestra/)

16. A Gradual Dazzle (4:10) – Caroline Shaw, Sō Percussion (Taken from the album ‘Let The Soil Play Its Simple Part’; see sopercussion.bandcamp.com/album/let-the-soil-play-its-simple-part, sopercussion.com & carolineshaw.com)

17. Beautiful Life (4:16) Bev Lee Harling (Taken from the album ‘Little Anchor′; see bevleeharling.bandcamp.com/album/little-anchor, www.bevleeharling.com & www.facebook.com/BevLeeHarlingMusic/)

18. Jazz Hands (2:44) – Neil Campbell (Taken from the album ‘The Great Escape’; see kmpuk.co.uk/product/klee-017/ & www.neilcampbell.org.uk/)

19. Behind Our House (3:48) – Astral Brain (Taken from the album ‘The Bewildered Mind’; see astralbrain.bandcamp.com/album/the-bewildered-mind & www.facebook.com/astralbrainband)

20. Borders (12:46) – Fractal Mirror (Taken from the album ‘Beyond Borders; see fractalmirror.bandcamp.com/album/beyond-borders & www.facebook.com/Fractalmirrormusic/)

21. Bruce Lee Water (5:29) Firetail (Taken from the EP ‘Glow Worm’; see firetail1.bandcamp.com/album/glow-worm & www.facebook.com/firetail)

22. Passport To Magonia (6:48) – Neil Campbell (Taken from the album ‘The Great Escape’; see kmpuk.co.uk/product/klee-017/ & www.neilcampbell.org.uk/)

23. Send In The Clowns (4:16) – Karmen Roivassepp Quartet (Taken from the album ‘Dance of Sounds’; danielsommer.bandcamp.com/album/karmen-roivassepp-quartet-dance-of-sounds & www.facebook.com/roivassepp/)

24. Heartwashing (2:42) – Dyble Longdon (Taken from the album ‘Between A Breath And A Breath′; see www.bigbigtrain.com/dyble-longdon/)

Thanks and happy new year to all the musicians who contributed, to all listeners, and of course a final thank you to David Longdon, with love to all his family and friends. Send us comments if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!). If you want to keep up to date with news about the show, EppyFest, or just chat with other listeners, don’t forget that there’s a Facebook group – just search for the Eppy Gibbon Podcast Show on Facebook and request to join, plus don’t forget that we’re now part of the Progzilla Radio Network. Do join us for the next show when there will be lots more great music, particularly as I will be beginning my countdown of my favourite albums of 2021.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s