Episode 243: TV Themes Special 3

This is the 243rd edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the playlist to accompany it. You should be able to CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD but note the shows are large files. Unfortunately the iTunes subscription no longer appears to be working so either download the show via the link above, or stream the show via Mixcloud (if you become a follower you can find out whenever I add new shows there) and the show can also be found on the Progzilla Radio Network (the show appears on Progzilla in alternate weeks). This latest show is another TV Themes Special. I’ve done a couple of these shows before (back in 2015 & then in 2017) and they’ve been very well received by listeners so hopefully this will round out a successful trilogy. You’ll hear a host of TV themes, some very familiar & some more obscure, covering many of the usual genres we cover on the show and offering the usual eclectic musical mix. There’s no feature album this time but rather a feature TV show, the 1968 children’s serial drama, ‘The Tyrant King’, which was notable for its use of a progressive music soundtrack, so you’ll hear three of the tracks that were used as part of that show’s soundtrack. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks from where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 2 hours & 10 minutes. Downloaded file is 119.2 MB.

1. Rainbow (2:47) – Matt Berry (Taken from the album ‘Television Themes’; see acidjazz.bigcartel.com/product/matt-berry-television-themes-signed-cd, www.themattberry.co.uk/ & www.facebook.com/mattberrymusic/)

2. (Theme From) The Monkees (2:21) – The Monkees (Taken from the album ‘The Monkees’; see www.monkees.com/, www.facebook.com/TheMonkees & www.monkees.net/)

3. Mission: Impossible (2:31) – Lalo Schifrin (Taken from the album ‘Mission: Impossible And Other Thrilling Themes’; see www.schifrin.com/main.htm)

4. Tank! (3:27) – Yoko Kanno & The Seatbelts (Taken from the compilation album ‘Cowboy Bebop Tank! The! Best!’; see www.jameswong.com/ykproject/core.html)

5. Divertimento – 1. Prelude (2:00) – The Philip Jones Brass Ensemble (Taken from the album ‘The 20th Century Album’; see www.impulse-music.co.uk/leonardsalzedo/pjbe.org/about/)

6. The Thoughts Of Emerlist Davjack (2:49) – The Nice (Taken from the album ‘The Best of The Nice’; see thenice.org.uk/)

7. Le Parc (3:21) – Tangerine Dream (Taken from the album ‘Le Parc’; see www.tangerinedream.org/www.facebook.com/TANGERINEDREAM.OFFICIAL/)

8. Guitar Man (2:56) – Elvis Presley (Taken from the album ‘From Nashville To Memphis – The Essential 60s Masters I’; see elvisthemusic.com)

9. Quantum Leap Main Title Theme (2:08) – Mike Post (Taken from the single ‘Scott Bakula Performs Somewhere In The Night’; see web.archive.org/web/20070813213339/http://arts.enotes.com/contemporary-musicians/post-mike-biography)

10. Theme From Randall And Hopkirk (Deceased) (Instrumental) (4:24) – David Arnold (Track taken from the single ‘Theme From Randall And Hopkirk (Deceased)’; see davidarnoldmusic.com/)

11. Lost In Space (Theme) (3:26) – Apollo 440 (Taken from the compilation album ‘Ultimate… Movies’; see www.apollo440.com/)

12. Out Of The Blue (6:14) – Elton John (Taken from the album ‘Blue Moves’; see www.eltonjohn.com)

13. Bring Me Sunshine (1:52) – Morecambe & Wise (Taken from the album ‘EMI Comedy Classics’; www.morecambeandwise.com/

14. Astronomy Domine (4:13) – Pink Floyd (Taken from the album ‘The Piper At The Gates of Dawn’; see  www.pinkfloyd.com/)

15. Run With Us (4:40) – Cygnets (Single available via cygnets.bandcamp.com/track/run-with-us-lisa-lougheed-cover; see also cygnetsngp.bandcamp.com/)

16. The Liberty Bell March (3:38) – Brass Band Riga (Taken from the compilation album ‘Classics on TV’; see www.montypython.com/)

17. Knight Rider Main Theme (1:20) Stu Phillips (Taken from the album ‘The Stu Phillips Scores: Knight Rider (Original Television Soundtrack)’; see www.stuwho.com/)

18. Theme From Starsky & Hutch (5:51) The James Taylor Quartet (Taken from the compilation album ‘Funk’; see www.jamestaylorquartet.co.uk/jtq/)

19. Gangsters (2:28)  Greenslade (Taken from the album ‘Time and Tide’; see www.temple-music.com/dave-greenslade/ & www.angelfire.com/music4/greenslade/index.html)

20. Penthouse Suite (1:58) – Syd Dale (Taken from the compilation album ‘The Sixties’; see radiosoundsfamiliar.com/syd-dale.php)

21. (Theme From) The Krypton Factor (0:53) – The Art Of Noise (Taken from the compilation album ‘The Inluence’; see www.theartofnoiseonline.com)

22. Light Flight (3:14) – Pentangle (Taken from the album ‘Basket of Light’; see www.pentangle.info/JMPentangle/HOME.html & www.facebook.com/Pentangle/)

23. Because Of You (3:13) – Dexys Midnight Runners/Kevin Rowland (Non-album single released in 1986 & available via assorted compilations; see www.dexysonline.com/)

24. Dr. Livingstone, I Presume (2:58) – The Moody Blues (Taken from the compilation album ‘Nights in White Satin’; see raythomas.co.uk/index.php & www.moodybluestoday.com/)

25. The Persuaders (2:10) – The Prisoners (Taken from ‘The Prisoners’ EP; see theprisoners1.bandcamp.com/album/the-prisoners)

26. Birdman Of Alcatraz (4:14) – Rick Wakeman (Taken from the album ‘Rick Wakeman’s Criminal Record′; see www.rwcc.com/ & www.facebook.com/RickWakemanMusic/)

27. New Year’s Prayer (4:41) – Jeff Buckley (Taken from the album ‘Sketches for My Sweetheart the Drunk’; see jeffbuckley.com)

28. The Tripods (Main Theme) (2:55) – Ken Freeman (Taken from the album ‘The Tripods’; see www.topnote.co.uk/mainframe.htm plus the album is available digitally via Amazon & iTunes)

29. Theme From Randall And Hopkirk (Deceased) (4:13) – Nina Persson and David Arnold (Track taken from the single ‘Theme From Randall And Hopkirk (Deceased)’; see www.facebook.com/ninaperssonofficial/ & davidarnoldmusic.com/)

30. Picture Box (2:57) – Matt Berry (Taken from the album ‘Television Themes’; see acidjazz.bigcartel.com/product/matt-berry-television-themes-signed-cd, www.themattberry.co.uk/ & www.facebook.com/mattberrymusic/)

31. Tarot (2:26)  Andrew Bown (Taken from the compilation album ‘Real Life Permanent Dreams: A Cornucopia of British Psychedelia 1965-1970’; see www.andybown.com/)

32. Stranger On The Shore (2:56)  Acker Bilk (Taken from the mix album Late Night Tales: Röyksopp’; see latenighttales.bandcamp.com/album/late-night-tales-r-yksopp)

33. Whatever Happened To You/The Sleepers in the Hill (5:20)  Soft Hearted Scientists (Taken from the album ‘Whatever Happened to the Soft Hearted Scientists’; see nathanhallandthesinisterlocals.bandcamp.com/album/whatever-happened-to-the-soft-hearted-scientists-3, www.softheartedscientists.com/ & www.facebook.com/SoftHeartedScientists)

Thanks to all the musicians who contributed and to all listeners. Send us comments if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!). If you want to keep up to date with news about the show, EppyFest, or just chat with other listeners, don’t forget that there’s a Facebook group – just search for the Eppy Gibbon Podcast Show on Facebook and request to join, plus don’t forget that we’re now part of the Progzilla Radio Network. The show will return next time for another Halloween special, so be afraid, be very afraid…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s