Episode 241: Summer’s End Festival Preview

This is the 241st edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the playlist to accompany it. You should be able to CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD but note the shows are large files. If you prefer, you can subscribe to the show via iTunes by sticking feeds2.feedburner.com/TheEpilepticGibbonPodcastMusicShow into the ‘Subscribe to podcast’ area & then you should get the new shows as they become available (BUT please let me know if this subscription isn’t working). The show is also available to stream via Mixcloud and the Progzilla Radio Network (the show appears on Progzilla in alternate weeks). This latest show is a preview of this year’s Summer’s End Progressive Rock Festival, which is taking place on the 5th, 6th & 7th of October, in Chepstow. I’ll be chatting to the organisers about this year’s festival and previewing the line-up, including tracks from all of the bands performing over the three days, plus I’ll be suggesting some acts for future years of the festival. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks from where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 2 hours & 23 minutes. Downloaded file is 130.76 MB.

1. Symmetry (6:53) – Quicksilver Night (Taken from the album ‘Symmetry’; see quicksilvernightproductions.bandcamp.com/album/quicksilver-night-symmetry & quicksilvernightproductions.com/)

2. Pavilion (5:43) – Longstone (Taken from the album ‘Pavilion’; see longstone.bandcamp.comwww.facebook.com/Longstone-35010211805/)

3. Pre-Columbian Worry Song (5:25) – Regal Worm (Taken from the album ‘Pig Views’; see regalworm.bandcamp.com/album/pig-views, regalworm.com/Hail.htmlwww.facebook.com/regalworm)

4. Nothing Like Home (6:43) – Soup (Taken from the album ‘Remedies’; see soupsound.bandcamp.com/album/remedies, www.soupband.com/ & www.facebook.com/soupsound)

Interview with Stephen Lambe & Huw Lloyd-Jones

5. A Dying Man’s Hymn (5:12) – Sky Architect (Taken from the album ‘A Dying Man’s Hymn’; see www.skyarchitect.com/ & www.facebook.com/skyarchitect)

6. Winter Mountain (5:20) – Moonparticle (Taken from the album ‘Hurricane Esmeralda’; see moonparticle.bandcamp.com/album/hurricane-esmeralda, www.moonparticle.com/www.facebook.com/moonparticleband/)

7. Postlude (Wo Ich Ihn Nicht Hab) (8:01) – When Mary (Taken from the album ‘Tainted’; see www.whenmary.no/ & www.facebook.com/whenmary/)

8. Turn It Off (5:29) – Silhouette (Taken from the album ‘The World is Flat …and other alternative facts’; see silhouettenl.bandcamp.com/album/the-world-is-flat-and-other-alternative-facts & www.silhouetteband.nl/)

9. Nine (6:10) – Frequency Drift (Taken from the album ‘Letters To Maro’; see frequencydrift.bandcamp.com, frequencydrift.com/ & www.facebook.com/FrequencyDrift/)

10. Entertaining Angels (8:31) – Landmarq (Taken from the album ‘Entertaining Angels’; see www.landmarq.net/index.htmwww.facebook.com/landmarqtheband/)

11. De deux choses lune (4:12) – Lazuli (Taken from the album ‘Saison 8’; see lazuli-music.com/?lang=en & www.facebook.com/Groupe.LAZULI/)

12. Bring Me To The Water (5:02) – Golden Caves (Taken from the album ‘Collision’; see goldencaves.com/ & freiamusic.co.uk/album/collision)

13. Pearl Of The Lake (5:11) – Kaprekar’s Constant (Taken from the album ‘Fate Outsmarts Desire’; see www.kaprekarsconstant.com/kaprekars.bandcamp.comwww.facebook.com/Kaprekars/)

14. Yawn Of A Blink (6:18) – Edensong (Taken from the album ‘Years In The Garden Of Years’; see lasersedge.bandcamp.com/album/years-in-the-garden-of-years & www.edensongtheband.com/)

15. Worlds Of Yesterday (5:41) – Tim Bowness (Taken from the album ‘Lost In The Ghost Light’; see timbowness.co.uk/ & www.facebook.com/timbowness/

16. Reflections (2:09) – Magenta (Taken from the album ‘Chameleon’; see www.magenta-web.com/, magenta.bandcamp.comwww.facebook.com/Magenta-8643003739/)

For more details about the Summer’s End Festival, see www.summersend.co.uk/

17. A Promise (4:46) – Mike Kershaw (Taken from the album ‘Arms Open Wide’; see mikekershaw.bandcamp.com/album/arms-open-wide, www.kershmusic.com & www.facebook.com/Mike-Kershaw-144511622309101/)

Thanks to all the musicians who contributed, to Stephen and Huw for coming in for the interview, and to all listeners. Send us comments if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!). If you want to keep up to date with news about the show, EppyFest, or just chat with other listeners, don’t forget that there’s a Facebook group – just search for the Eppy Gibbon Podcast Show on Facebook and request to join, plus don’t forget that we’re now part of the Progzilla Radio Network. I’ll be back again next time for the second part of my review of some great music from 2017 that didn’t feature in my top 30 countdown, so I hope you’ll be back to listen to that show.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s