Episode 239: The Hour That Never Was

This is the 239th edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the playlist to accompany it. You may be able to CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD but note the shows are large files & this may not be the best way to listen. The show is also available to stream via Mixcloud and the Progzilla Radio Network (the show appears on Progzilla in alternate weeks). Your regular host is currently occupied with work, so Daniel Staniforth and Rebsie Fairholm are kindly sitting in again to present one of their takes on Eppy Gibbon music. The feature album is ‘Briny Hooves’ by William D. Drake.  Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks from where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 2 hours. Downloaded file is 115 MB.

1. Through the Forest Wondrously (2:17) – Sopor Aeternus & the Ensemble of Shadows (Taken from the album ‘The Spiral Sacrifice’; see www.soporaeternus.de)

2. Fiend in a Cloud (3:41) – John Vanderslice  (Taken from the album ‘Life and Death of an American Fourtracker’; see www.johnvanderslice.com)

3. Visions (4:08) – Toyah (Taken from the album ‘The Blue Meaning′; see toyahwillcox.com/album/the-blue-meaning)

4. January Night (4:50) – William D. Drake (Taken from the album ‘Briny Hooves’; see williamddrake.wordpress.com and williamddrake.bandcamp.com)

5. God Break Down the Door (4:15) – Nine Inch Nails (Taken from the album ‘Bad Witch’; see www.nin.com)

6. Delphine (5:55) – Kadhja Bonet  (Taken from the album ‘Childqueen’; see kbonet.com)

7. Amarylis [fragment] (6:25) – Bread, Love and Dreams (Taken from the album ‘Amarylis’; see www.allmusic.com/artist/bread-love-and-dreams)

8. Many Coloured Semi Precious Plastic Easter Eggs (2:50) – Peter Sarstedt (Taken from the album ‘The Peter Sarstedt Collection’; see  www.discogs.com/artist/269095-Peter-Sarstedt)

9. Serendipity Doodah (3:16) – William D. Drake (Taken from the album ‘Briny Hooves’; see williamddrake.wordpress.com and williamddrake.bandcamp.com)

10. metro deathfire (4:58) – phideaux (Taken from the forthcoming album ‘infernal’; see www.bloodfish.com)

11. Peripheral (3:04) – Eartheater (Taken from the album ‘Irisiri’; see alexdrewchin.bandcamp.com)

12. Hell-On (4:09) – Neko Case (Taken from the album ‘Hell-On’; see nekocase.com)

13. Zu Asche, Zu Staub (Psycho Nikoros) (4:28) – Severija (Taken from the soundtrack ‘Babylon Berlin’; see kottke.org/18/04/music-from-babylon-berlin)

14. I Want to be Alone (Dialogue) (3:20) – Jackson C. Frank (Taken from the album ‘Jackson C. Frank’; see www.discogs.com/artist/371560-Jackson-C-Frank)

15. Are You With Me Now? (4:21) Cate Le Bon (Taken from the album ‘Mug Museum’; see www.catelebon.com)

16. Dead Queen (8:13) – Espers (Taken from the album ‘Espers II’; see www.discogs.com/artist/339607-Espers)

17. That River (4:25) Fovea Hex (Taken from the EP ‘Bloom′; see foveahex.bandcamp.com)

18. King of the Rumbling Spires (Take 7) (2:26) Tyrannosaurus Rex (Taken from the album ‘Unicorn’; see www.trexcafe.com)

As part of the feature ‘The 80s Weren’t All Rubbish You Know’:

19. Keys of Life (2:28) – Klaus Nomi (Taken from the album ‘Klaus Nomi’; see www.allmusic.com/artist/klaus-nomi-mn0000772669)

20. Moments Lost (2:44) Bob Theil (Taken from the album ‘So Far’; see www.discogs.com/artist/2317549-Bob-Theil)

21. Odd Even (3:15) The 180 Gs (Taken from the album ‘Singin’ to God‘, see davidminnick1.bandcamp.com)

22. Dark Ecstasies (3:53) – William D. Drake (Taken from the album ‘Briny Hooves’; see williamddrake.wordpress.com and williamddrake.bandcamp.com)

23. One Percent (2:21) Gorillaz (Taken from the album ‘The Now Now’; see www.gorillaz.com)

24. A Palinopsic Wind (3:40) – Mind Over Mirrors (Taken from the album ‘Bellowing Sun’; see mindovermirrors.bandcamp.com)

25. Monkey Dung Man (2:07) – The Unthanks (Taken from the album ‘Songs from the Shipyards’; see www.the-unthanks.com)

26. endgame – an end (3:29) – phideaux (Taken from the forthcoming album ‘infernal’; see www.bloodfish.com)

Thanks to all the musicians who contributed and to all listeners. Send us comments if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!). If you want to keep up to date with news about the show, EppyFest, or just chat with other listeners, don’t forget that there’s a Facebook group – just search for the Eppy Gibbon Podcast Show on Facebook and request to join, plus don’t forget that we’re now part of the Progzilla Radio Network. Eppy will be back next time with lots of great 2018 music and the usual eclectic mixture of styles and genres.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s