Episode 231: Michael Bearpark interview 2018 pt.2

This is the 231st edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the playlist to accompany it. You may be able to CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD but note the shows are large files & this may not be the best way to listen. If you prefer, you can subscribe to the show via iTunes by sticking feeds2.feedburner.com/TheEpilepticGibbonPodcastMusicShow into the ‘Subscribe to podcast’ area & then you’ll get the new shows as they become available. The show is also available to stream via Mixcloud and the Progzilla Radio Network (the show appears on Progzilla in alternate weeks). This latest show is built around part two of an interview with Michael Bearpark of Henry Fool, Darkroom & No-man, with Michael yet again choosing most of the music and reflecting on new discoveries and the connections between the choices and how they have intersected with key moments in his life. There’s no feature album tonight but you can expect to hear a typically eclectic musical mix. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks from where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 1 hour & 50 minutes. Downloaded file is 100.8 MB.

Interview with Michael Bearpark

1. Here Comes The Flood (3:56) – Robert Fripp and Peter Gabriel (Taken from the album ‘Exposure’; see www.dgmlive.competergabriel.com)

2. Solar Storm (6:23) – Richard Barbieri (Taken from the album ‘Planets + Persona’; see www.kscopemusic.com/artists/richard-barbieri/ & www.facebook.com/RichardBarbieriOfficial

3. Nowhere Now (4:04) – Steven Wilson (Taken from the album ‘To The Bone’; see stevenwilsonhq.com/ & www.facebook.com/StevenWilsonHQ)

4. 1921 (2:50) – The Who (Taken from the album ‘Tommy’; see www.thewho.com)

5. La Ballata De S’isposa ‘e Mannorri (6:16) – D.F.A. (Taken from the album ‘4th’; see dutyfreearea.bandcamp.com)

6. Home (4:34) – David Sylvian (Taken from the album ‘Gone to Earth’; see www.davidsylvian.com/)

As part of the feature, ‘The 80s Weren’t All Rubbish You Know!’ …

7. Hysteria (5:55) – Def Leppard (Taken from the album ‘Hysteria’; see www.defleppard.com)

8. A Magnificent Death (15:01) – Joel Harrison (Taken from the album ‘Search’; see joelharrison.comwww.facebook.com/joelharrisongtr/)

9. Jenny (Iowa Sunrise) (3:33) – Janis Ian & Chick Corea (Taken from the compilation album ‘Up ‘Til Now; see www.janisian.com)

10. Garmonbozia (4:30) – Thumpermonkey (Taken from the EP ‘Electricity’; see thumpermonkey.bandcamp.com/ & www.thumpermonkey.com/)

You can see Thumpermonkey at EppyFest 7 on Saturday 28th July. For tickets and more information see eppyfest.co.uk

11. Everybody Needs You (2:55) – Laura Veirs (Taken from the album ‘The Lookout’; see lauraveirs.bandcamp.com/album/the-lookout & lauraveirs.com)

Thanks to all the musicians who contributed and to all listeners, plus a special thanks to Michael Bearpark for coming into the studio and picking most of the music. Send us comments if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!). If you want to keep up to date with news about the show, EppyFest, or just chat with other listeners, don’t forget that there’s a Facebook group – just search for the Eppy Gibbon Podcast Show on Facebook and request to join, plus don’t forget that we’re now part of the Progzilla Radio Network. Eppy will be back again next time, with another interview and lots of great music, so we hope to see you back for that.


2 thoughts on “Episode 231: Michael Bearpark interview 2018 pt.2

  1. Thomas J Hudon says:

    Great interview as always when Mr. Bearpark is involved.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s