Episode 222: Esprit de Corps

This is the 222nd edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the playlist to accompany it. You may be able to CLICK HERE TO LISTEN but note the shows are large files & this may not be the best way to listen. If you prefer, you can subscribe to the show via iTunes by sticking feeds2.feedburner.com/TheEpilepticGibbonPodcastMusicShow into the ‘Subscribe to podcast’ area & then you’ll get the new shows as they become available. The show is also available to stream via Mixcloud and the Progzilla Radio Network (the show appears on Progzilla in alternate weeks). Your regular host is back to bring you a typically diverse and eclectic musical mix to help you see out 2017. The feature album is from 2004, ‘Has Been’, by William Shatner so you’ll hear three tracks from this remarkable (& surprisingly good) album. Otherwise you can expect the usual diverse selection of styles and genres, including some teasers about Eppy‘s favourite albums of 2017 and a preview of next year’s EppyFest 7. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks from where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 2 hours & 8 minutes. Downloaded file is 116.9 MB.

1. The 32nd Path (6:19) – Charlie Cawood (Taken from the album ‘The Divine Abstract’; see charliecawood.bandcamp.com & music.badelephant.co.uk/music)

2. Common People (4:41) – William Shatner (Taken from the album ‘Has Been’; see williamshatner.com/ws/)

3. Eagle Nebula (9:11) – Bryan and the Aardvarks (Taken from the album ‘Sounds From The Deep Field’; see bryanandtheaardvarks.com/, bryanandtheaardvarks.bandcamp.com/album/sounds-from-the-deep-field, & www.facebook.com/bryanandtheaardvarks/)

4. Mercury Trick (3:07) – Chloë March (Taken from the album ‘Blood-Red Spark’; see www.chloemarch.co.uk and chloemarch.bandcamp.com)

5. Fukushima Surfer Boys (3:42) – Trojan Horse (Taken from the album ‘Fukushima Surfer Boys’; see trojanhorse.bandcamp.com/ & www.facebook.com/trojanhorseuk)

6. Futures (4:27) – V Ä L V Ē (Taken from the EP ‘#1 [the theosophical society]’; see valvemusic.bandcamp.com/album/1-the-theosophical-society)

7. Chapelle lunaire (6:53) – Miriodor (Taken from the album ‘Signal 9’; see miriodor.com/, cuneiformrecords.bandcamp.com/album/signal-9 & www.facebook.com/miriodor?fref=ts)

8. Sleepcloud (5:20) – Spindle Ensemble (Taken from the album ‘Bea‘; see spindleensemble.bandcamp.com/album/Bea & www.bloommusic.co.uk/artists/spindle-ensemble/)

9. Beloved (5:41) – Firefly Burning (Taken from the album ‘Skeleton Hill’; see www.fireflyburning.co.uk/, fireflyburning.bandcamp.com/ & www.facebook.com/fireflyburning)

Firefly Burning will be on at EppyFest 7 along with Gong, North Sea Radio Orchestra, Doris Brendel, Sanguine Hum (acoustic) and more over 27th & 28th July, 2018, in Cheltenham. For more details and tickets go to eppyfest.co.uk/

10. Glass Hillside (4:54) – Grizzly Bear (Taken from the album ‘Painted Ruins’; see grizzly-bear.net & www.facebook.com/grizzlybear/)

11. I Can’t Get Behind That (3:00) – William Shatner (Taken from the album ‘Has Been’; see williamshatner.com/ws/)

12. Harvest Festival (4:15) – XTC (Taken from the album ‘Apple Venus Volume 1’; see chalkhills.org/, www.ape.uk.net & www.last.fm/music/XTC)

13. Overture Part Two (2:05) – Johnny Unicorn (Taken from the album Heavy Jugs to the Moon’; see www.johnnyunicorn.com/ & johnnyunicorn.bandcamp.com)

14. Tank! (3:27) – Yoko Kanno & The Seatbelts (Taken from the compilation album ‘Cowboy Bebop Tank! The! Best!’; see www.jameswong.com/ykproject/core.html)

15. Afterglow (3:45) – mouse on the keys (Taken from the ‘Top Shelf 2017 Sampler’ but also available on the album ‘Out of Body’; see topshelfrecords.bandcamp.com/album/2017-samplertopshelfrecords.bandcamp.com/album/out-of-body & mouseonthekeys.net/)

16. Megaton Bingo (6:25) – The Night Programme (Taken from the album ‘Audition’; see dementio13.com/album/audition, dementio13.wordpress.com & www.facebook.com/Dementio13)

17. This Is Not A Fire (5:06) – Thumpermonkey (Taken from the EP ‘Electricity’; see thumpermonkey.bandcamp.com/ & www.thumpermonkey.com/)

18. Destiny Repeats Itself (7:24) – Bubblemath (Taken from the album ‘Edit Peptide’; see cuneiformrecords.bandcamp.com/album/edit-peptide, www.bubblemath.com/, & www.facebook.com/bubblemath)

19. White Blindness (3:10) – The Hare and Hoofe (Single available via thehareandhoofe.bandcamp.com/track/white-blindness; see also thehareandhoofe.wordpress.com & www.facebook.com/TheHareAndHoofe)

20. No Game (4:14) – Chloë March (Taken from the album ‘Blood-Red Spark’; see www.chloemarch.co.uk and chloemarch.bandcamp.com)

21. Together (5:40) – William Shatner (Taken from the album ‘Has Been’; see williamshatner.com/ws/)

22. Song for Guy (6:50) – Elton John (Taken from the album ‘A Single Man’; see www.eltonjohn.com)

Thanks to all the musicians who contributed and to all listeners. A happy New Year to one and all! Send us comments if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!). If you want to keep up to date with news about the show, EppyFest, or just chat with other listeners, don’t forget that there’s a Facebook group – just search for the Eppy Gibbon Podcast Show on Facebook and request to join, plus don’t forget that we’re now part of the Progzilla Radio Network. Eppy will be back again for the first show of 2018, so we hope you’ll be back too to see how he kicks off the new year.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s