Episode 220: The Charmers

This is the 220th edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the playlist to accompany it. You may be able to CLICK HERE TO LISTEN but note the shows are large files & this may not be the best way to listen. If you prefer, you can subscribe to the show via iTunes by sticking feeds2.feedburner.com/TheEpilepticGibbonPodcastMusicShow into the ‘Subscribe to podcast’ area & then you’ll get the new shows as they become available. The show is also available to stream via Mixcloud and the Progzilla Radio Network (the show appears on Progzilla in alternate weeks). Your regular host is currently occupied with work, so Daniel Staniforth and Rebsie Fairholm are kindly sitting in again to present one of their takes on Eppy Gibbon music. The feature album is ‘Monsters and Mad Things’ by Marvin B. Naylor. You can also expect the usual diverse selection of styles and genres. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks from where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 2 hours & 12 minutes. Downloaded file is 121 MB.

1. Sennen (2:38) – Chloë March (Taken from the album ‘Blood-Red Spark’; see www.chloemarch.co.uk and chloemarch.bandcamp.com)

2. The Way I Feel (4:47) – Fotheringay (Taken from the album ‘Fotheringay’; see www.fotheringay.com/the-band)

3. Egyptian Kings (5:52) – Brainticket (Taken from the album ‘Celestial Oceans’; see brainticketband.com)

4. Dove, Pearl, Priest (2:32) – The Valerie Project (Taken from the album ‘The Valerie Project’; see www.dragcity.com/artists/the-valerie-project)

5. Other (3:32) – Alison Moyet (Taken from the album ‘Other’; see alisonmoyet.com)

6. Sunrise on Aristarchus (3:11) – Marvin B. Naylor (Taken from the album ‘Monsters and Mad Things’; see www.marvinbnaylor.com and marvinbnaylormusic.bandcamp.com)

As part of the semi-regular feature, ‘Cats’ Corner’ …

7. A Storm of Cats (2:35) – Phideaux (Taken from the album ‘313’; see www.bloodfish.com)

8. Body to Space (5:34) – Phideaux (Taken from the album ‘313’; see www.bloodfish.com)

9. K (5:17) – Cigarettes After Sex (Taken from the album ‘Cigarettes After Sex’; see www.cigarettesaftersex.com)

As part of the semi-regular feature, ‘The 80s Weren’t All Rubbish You Know!’ …

10. Hazy Daze (3:18) – Chris & Cosey (Taken from the album ‘Techno Primitiv’; see www.chrisandcosey.com)

11. Diamonds, Fur Coat, Champagne (3:22) – Suicide (Taken from the album ‘Suicide’; see www.discogs.com/artist/31055-Suicide)

12. Peace Within the Valley (4:54) – Marvin B. Naylor (Taken from the album ‘Monsters and Mad Things’; see www.marvinbnaylor.com and marvinbnaylormusic.bandcamp.com)

13. She Sung of Love (4:58) – Katharine Blake (Taken from the album ‘Midnight Flower’; see www.mediaevalbaebes.com)

14. Mourning Sound (4:29) – Grizzly Bear (Taken from the album ‘Painted Ruins’; (see grizzly-bear.net)

15. Summer Smoke (6:35) – Cemeteries (Taken from the album ‘The Wilderness’; (see speakinghorrors.bandcamp.com)

16. A Norman Soldier (2:23) – Mark Fry (Taken from the album ‘Dreaming with Alice’; see www.markfry.co.uk)

17. Erwachen (4:06) – Hölderlin (Taken from the album ‘Hölderlins Traum’; see www.progarchives.com/artist.asp?id=150)

18. National Trust (3:25) – Project Adorno (Taken from the album ‘Shine Bright on Thursdays’; see www.projectadorno.net)

19. Tea at Five (4:31) – Eliza Carthy (Taken from the album ‘Neptune’; see www.eliza-carthy.com)

20. An Bhanaltra (4:53) – Magickal Folk of the Faraway Tree (Taken from the album ‘The Soup and the Shilling’; see www.discogs.com/artist/475035-The-Magickal-Folk-Of-The-Faraway-Tree)

21. Rocking Horse (3:40) – Kelli Ali (Taken from the album ‘Rocking Horse’; (see www.kelliali.com)

22. Devotion (3:50) – Between (Taken from the album ‘And the Waters Opened’; (see www.p-m-hamel.de/peter-michael-hamel–english.html)

23. The Days Don’t Feel the Same (5:21) – Arch Garrison (Taken from the album ‘King of the Down’; (see www.archgarrison.co.uk)

24. Persephone Dreams Alone (5:16) – Marvin B. Naylor (Taken from the album ‘Monsters and Mad Things’; see www.marvinbnaylor.com and marvinbnaylormusic.bandcamp.com)

25. The Ballintore Fancy (3:34) – The Bothy Band (Taken from the album ‘Old Hag You Have Killed Me’; (see www.discogs.com/artist/918802-The-Bothy-Band)

26. Canticles of the Sun and Moon (5:41) – Anne Dudley (Taken from the album ‘Ancient & Modern’; (see www.annedudley.co.uk)

Thanks to all the musicians who contributed and to all listeners, and a special thanks to Daniel & Rebsie for sitting in. Send us comments if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!). If you want to keep up to date with news about the show, EppyFest, or just chat with other listeners, don’t forget that there’s a Facebook group – just search for the Eppy Gibbon Podcast Show on Facebook and request to join, plus don’t forget that we’re now part of the Progzilla Radio Network. Eppy will be back next time with his special festive edition of the show, so we hope you’ll be back to listen to that.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s