Episode 192: Death a la Carte

This is the 192th edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the playlist to accompany it. You can either CLICK HERE TO LISTEN or, if you prefer, you can subscribe to the show via iTunes by sticking feeds2.feedburner.com/TheEpilepticGibbonPodcastMusicShow into the ‘Subscribe to podcast’ area. The show is also available via Mixcloud and the Progzilla Radio Network (the show is now appearing on Progzilla in alternate weeks). It’s Halloween time again so for this show we have the return of the diabolical Count Eppy Gibbon, who will again be your ghoulish host for this year’s Halloween special. There’s no feature album this time around, but there is a typically eclectic mixture of spooky sounds and terrifying tales. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks from where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 1 hour & 42 minutes. Downloaded file is 93.5 MB.

1. Twilight Zone: Theme And Variations (3:38) – Marius Constant, arr Stu Phillips/John Williams & The Boston Pops Orchestra (Taken from the album ‘The No.1 Sci-Fi Album’; see www.classicthemes.com/50sTVThemes/themePages/twilightZone.html)

2. Midnight, The Stars and You (3:28) – Al Bowlly and Ray Noble and His Orchestra (Taken from the album ‘The Shining – The complete British dance band soundtrack’; see www.memorylane.org.uk/the_al_bowlly_story.htm)

3. Burn The Witch (3:41) – Radiohead (Taken from the album ‘A Moon Shaped Pool’; see www.radiohead.com/deadairspace & www.facebook.com/radiohead/)

4. Dawn of the 2D Trees (2:44) – Mister Pongle (Taken from the single/EP ‘Timeliness’; see www.misterpongle.co.uk/, misterpongle.bandcamp.com/ & www.facebook.com/MisterPongle/)

5. The Unusual Village (6:21) – Ozric Tentacles (Taken from the album ‘Technicians of the Sacred’; see www.ozrics.com/)

6. Your Hidden Dreams (4:59) – White Noise (Taken from the album ‘An Electric Storm’; see itunes.apple.com/gb/album/an-electric-storm/id259620055 & see this review of the album by Julian Cope: www.headheritage.co.uk/unsung/review/1143)

7. Dozy Phantoms (3:34) – Emmett Elvin (Taken from the album ‘Assault on the Tyranny of Reason’; see emmettelvin.bandcamp.com/album/assault-on-the-tyranny-of-reason & www.facebook.com/EmmettElvinMusic)

8. Fallen Angels (3:22) – Ra (Taken from the album ‘Duality’; see www.raband.net/ & www.facebook.com/OfficialRA)

9. Fallen Angel (3:06) – Matt Berry (Taken from the album ‘Kill the Wolf’; see www.themattberry.co.uk/ & www.facebook.com/mattberrymusic)

10. Careful With That Axe, Eugene (live) (8:49) – Pink Floyd (Taken from the album ‘Ummagumma’; see www.pinkfloyd.com & www.facebook.com/pinkfloyd)

11. We’ve (still) got a ghost (3:32) – DEAD (Taken from the ‘Caturday’ EP; see deadest.bandcamp.com/album/caturday & www.facebook.com/BOOKOFDEAD/)

12. A Cry Within (3:34) – Edmund Sullen (Taken from the compilation album ‘Music For Vampires’; see leerosevere.bandcamp.com/album/music-for-vampires)

13. Young Crescent (4:52) – Karda Estra (Taken from the EP ‘Future Sounds’ & it’s also available on the album ‘Time And Stars’; see www.kardaestra.co.uk/, kardaestra.bandcamp.com/ & www.facebook.com/pages/Karda-Estra/67051130804)

14. Low Battery (5:51) – Jaga Jazzist (Taken from the Animal ChinEP; see ninjatune.net/artist/jaga-jazzistsoundcloud.com/jagajazzist & www.facebook.com/jagajazzist)

15. America (6:21) – The Nice (Taken from the album ‘The Best of The Nice’; see www.discogs.com/artist/259812-The-Nice & www.keithemerson.com/)

16. Green Man (9:19) – Alchymical Muse (Taken from the duo’s debut album ‘The Spark’, which has just been released as a digital download via rebsiefairholm.bandcamp.com & there is also a limited edition CD version available for pre-order; see also soundcloud.com/alchymical-muse)

17. Monster Mash (2:59) – The Bonzo Dog Band (Taken from the album ‘Tadpoles; see www.bonzodog.co.uk/)

18. Asperitas (5:34) – Elif Yalvac (Taken from the ‘CloudscapesEP; see hazalelif.bandcamp.com, hazalelif.wordpress.com & soundcloud.com/hazalelif)

19. The Raven That Refused To Sing (7:57) – Steven Wilson (Taken from the album ‘The Raven That Refused To Sing (And Other Stories)’; see stevenwilsonhq.com/, www.kscopemusic.com/stevenwilson/ & www.facebook.com/StevenWilsonHQ)

Thanks, as always, to everyone involved with this show, musicians and listeners alike, and particularly to Count Eppy. Send me comments if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!). If you want to keep up to date with news about the show, EppyFest, or just chat with other listeners, don’t forget that there’s a Facebook group – just search for the Eppy Gibbon Podcast Show on Facebook and request to join, plus don’t forget that we’re now part of the Progzilla Radio Network. The next show will be built around an interview with Mike Kershaw, with lots of music from Mike himself & some of his own choices plus the usual eclectic mixture, so I hope you’ll come back for that.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s