Episode 138: The Big Thinker

October 7, 2014 at 7:54 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , , )

This is the 138th edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the playlist to accompany it. CLICK HERE TO LISTEN. You can also listen via Mixcloud here. For this edition of the show we’re having what I laughingly call a ‘normal’ edition of the show, so no interviews or special themes, just me playing a load of top quality music, new & old. We will, however, have a feature album, the late, great Jeff Buckley’s debut solo album ‘Grace’, so there will be three tracks from that. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks to where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 2 hours and 27 minutes. Downloaded file is 134.3 MB.

1. Dreams Wide Awake (8:50) – National Health (Taken from the album ‘Of Queues and Cures’; see homepage.ntlworld.com/andymurkin/Resources/MusicRes/Canterbury/NatHealth/NatHistory.html & itunes.apple.com/gb/artist/national-health/id122714021)

2. Angela (Theme from Taxi) (5:42) – Bob James (Taken from the album ‘Touchdown; see www.bobjames.com/itunes.apple.com/gb/artist/bob-james/id368630 & www.facebook.com/BobJamesJazz)

3. Son of Bassoon (2:59) – Sanguine Hum (Taken from the album ‘Live In America – now available as a strictly limited (1000 copies globally) & numbered CD/DVD – see www.burningshed.com/store/artrock/product/119/5762/; see also troopersforsound.com/ & www.facebook.com/SanguineHum)

4. Porcelain (4:42) – A Troop of Echoes (Taken from the EP ‘The Ends of Invention; see atroopofechoes.com/, atroopofechoes.bandcamp.com/ & www.facebook.com/atroopofechoes)

5. Paper Bells (5:44) – Trojan Horse (Taken from the album ‘World Turned Upside Down′; see music.badelephant.co.uk/album/world-turned-upside-down-2, trojanhorseuk.com/ & www.facebook.com/trojanhorseuk)

6. The Oldest Road (4:34) – Arch Garrison (Taken from the album I Will Be a Pilgrim; see www.archgarrison.co.uk/ & www.facebook.com/pages/Arch-Garrison/436363986400726)

7. Grace (5:22) – Jeff Buckley (Taken from the album ‘Grace; see www.jeffbuckley.com/ & www.facebook.com/JeffBuckley)

8. Gordian Knot (6:30) – Jeff Green Project (Taken from the album ‘Elder Creek’; see www.cdbaby.com/cd/jeffgreenproject, jeffgreen.org.uk/ & www.facebook.com/pages/Jeff-Green-Official/181935641858756)

9. Reflections (5:38) – Quest Ensemble (Taken from the album ‘Footfall’; see qensemble.bandcamp.com/ & www.facebook.com/QuestEnsemble)

10. Meadow (2:49) – Kawakawa (Taken from the album ‘Island Species′; see www.kawakawamusic.com/ & www.facebook.com/Kawakawamusic)

11. Buy One Now (2:41) – Stars In Battledress (Taken from the album ‘In Droplet Form’; see www.starsinbattledress.com/, www.thegenepool.co.uk/labels/Believers+Roast.htm & www.facebook.com/starsinbattledress)

12. L’espoir Perdu (5:27) – Univers Zero (Taken from the album ‘Phosphorescent Dreams’; see www.univers-zero.com/ & itunes.apple.com/gb/album/phosphorescent-dreams/id814321057)

13. Where The Memories Fester (4:26) – The Dowling Poole (Taken from the album ‘Bleak Strategies’; see www.pledgemusic.com/projects/thedowlingpoole & www.facebook.com/TheDowlingPoole)

14. T.V.T.V. (4:08) – Stop Motion Orchestra (Taken from the album ‘Instant Everything!; see www.stopmotionorchestra.com/, stopmotionorchestra.bandcamp.com/album/instant-everything & www.facebook.com/stopmotionorchestra/info)

15. Corpus Christi Carol (2:56) – Jeff Buckley (Taken from the album ‘Grace; see www.jeffbuckley.com/ & www.facebook.com/JeffBuckley)

16. She Walks in Beauty (3:28) – Kirsten Morrison (Taken from the album ‘Proserpine’s Gold’; see www.kirstenmorrisonmusic.co.uk/Kirsten_Morrison_Music/Home.html, kirstenmorrison.bandcamp.com/album/proserpines-gold, & www.facebook.com/pages/Kirsten-Morrison-Music/233113536746874)

17. Stripsearch (4:30) – Faith No More (Taken from the album ‘Album Of The Year; see www.fnm.com/ & www.facebook.com/officialfnm)

18. Reach Out For a Moment, For Eternity (4:59) – Leaving Richmond (Taken from the EP ‘An Elusive Glow; see leavingrichmond.tumblr.com/, leavingrichmond.bandcamp.com/ & www.facebook.com/leavingrichmond)

19. Swag Times (5:51) – Bill Laurance (Taken from the album ‘Flint; see www.billlaurance.com/, billlaurance.bandcamp.com/releases & www.facebook.com/billlaurancemusic)

20. Dystopian Fiction (2:01) – MoeTar (Taken from the album ‘Entropy of the Century; see www.moetar.com/, www.magnacarta.net/moetar/ & www.facebook.com/MoeTar)

21. Mr. Wishbone (3:31) – Heliopolis (Taken from the album ‘City of the Sun; see www.heliopolisband.com/, 10trecords.com/heliopolis-release-city-of-the-sun-on-10t-records/ & www.facebook.com/HeliopolisLAProg)

22. First Rootwork (3:54) – Retic (Taken from the album ‘Subculture Logic; see retic.bandcamp.com/album/subculture-logic & www.facebook.com/reticface)

23. Flow (2:09) – Matt Stevens (Taken from the album ‘Lucid; see www.mattstevensguitar.com/www.burningshed.com/store/guitarists/product/111/5458/ & www.facebook.com/mattstevensguitar)

24. Immutable (5:31) – Supernal Endgame (Taken from the album ‘Touch The Sky – Volume 2; see www.supernalendgame.com/, 10trecords.com/supernal-endgame-release-touch-the-sky-volume-ii-plus-free-download/, www.facebook.com/supernalendgame, & if you want to get the free download the band have made available head to 10trecords.com/store/supernal-endgame-edens-song-free-download/)

25. The Drowning (5:25) – Abel Ganz (Taken from the album ‘Abel Ganz; see www.abelganz.com/content/, abelganz.bandcamp.com/album/abel-ganz & www.facebook.com/pages/Abel-Ganz/104282746280548)

26. Lover, You Should’ve Come Over (6:44) – Jeff Buckley (Taken from the album ‘Grace; see www.jeffbuckley.com/ & www.facebook.com/JeffBuckley)

Many thanks as always to all the bands, musicians and listeners who make this podcast possible. Please leave a comment if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!) or if you want to have your say on anything else connected to this podcast. If you want to keep up to date with news about this podcast, EppyFest, or just chat with other listeners, don’t forget that there’s a Facebook group – just search for the Eppy Gibbon Podcast Show on Facebook and request to join. The next show will be a Halloween special when you can expect lots of spooky tunes and the triumphant return of the depraved and macabre Count Eppy Gibbon, so I hope you’ll come back for that. And I’ll be back the show after that with a Swedish special.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: