Episode 117: The International Christmas Pudding

December 19, 2013 at 3:12 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , )

This is the 117th edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the playlist to accompany it. CLICK HERE TO LISTEN. The show will also be available via Mixcloud here. This show is a festive edition, featuring music that has some connection to Christmas, the Winter Solstice, Yuletide, or just the cold wintry season in general. To reflect this the feature album is ‘A Winter Gathering’ by Shauna Burns, plus there will be the usual diverse selection of styles and genres, including prog rock, electronica, chamber pop, jazz, folk and all sorts of other weird & wonderful music. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks from where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 2 hours. Downloaded file is 109.6 MB.

1. December Alone (4:31) – Earth Size Diamonds (Taken from the album, ‘Alien Science’; see earthsizediamonds.bandcamp.com/ & www.facebook.com/EarthSizeDiamonds)

2. Winter’s Song (4:10) – I Am Your Autopilot (Taken from the album ‘The Stillness of the Sea’; see www.iamyourautopilot.com/, iamyourautopilot.bandcamp.com/ & www.facebook.com/IAmYourAutopilot)

3. Melting (4:49) – All About Eve (Taken from the album ‘Iceland’; see julianneregan.com/julianneregan.com/welcome.html & www.goony.nl/aae/aae.htm)

4. Winter Star (2:35) – Shauna Burns (Taken from the album ‘A Winter Gathering’; see shaunaburns.com/music/ & www.facebook.com/shaunaburnsmusic; this track was provided by Mevio’s Music Alley – see www.musicalley.com/)

5. Endlessly (4:25) – Mercury Rev (Taken from the album ‘Deserter’s Songs’; see www.mercuryrev.com/ & www.facebook.com/MercuryRev?ref=ts)

6. It Hasn’t Happened Yet (3:50) – William Shatner (Taken from the album ‘Has Been’; see williamshatner.com/ws/)

7. Merry Christmas Joseph Suttle (3:14) – Thumpermonkey (Taken from the album Yottametre’; see thumpermonkey.bandcamp.com/ & www.thumpermonkey.com/)

8. Stop the Cavalry (3:10) – Marillion (Taken from the 2003 fan-club-only Christmas CD Say Cheese!’; see marillion.com/ & en-gb.facebook.com/MarillionOfficial)

9. Snowbound (4:31) –  Genesis (Taken from the album ‘…And Then There Were Three…’; see www.genesis-music.com/ & www.facebook.com/genesis)

10. Petites Litanies De Jesus (4:18) – Keith Emerson (Taken from ‘The Christmas Album; see www.keithemerson.com/)

11. Carol of the Bells (3:52) – Shauna Burns (Taken from the album ‘A Winter Gathering’; see shaunaburns.com/music/ & www.facebook.com/shaunaburnsmusic; this track was provided by Mevio’s Music Alley – see www.musicalley.com/)

12. Winter Singing (4:44) – The Imagined Village (Taken from the album ‘Bending The Dark; see www.theimaginedvillage.com/, imaginedvillage.com/ & www.facebook.com/imaginedvillage)

13. Solstice (9:27) – Matt Berry (Taken from the album ‘Kill the Wolf’; see www.themattberry.co.uk/ & www.facebook.com/mattberrymusic)

14. Winter Night (2:52) – Rhys Marsh (Taken from the EP ‘Suspended In A Weightless Wind’; see rhysmarsh.com/ & itunes.apple.com/us/album/suspended-in-weightless-wind/id696205037)

15. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen (Take Five) (4:06) – Tobin Mueller (Taken from the album ‘Midwinter Born’; see www.tobinmueller.com/, www.cdbaby.com/cd/tobinmueller32 & itunes.apple.com/us/artist/tobin-mueller/id97659025)

16. O Christmas Tree (2:46) – John Stebbe (Free download available from www.macjams.com/artist/John+Stebbe; see also johnstebbe.webs.com/ & www.cdbaby.com/cd/johnstebbe2)

17. Winter Comes (3:04) – Alexander von Mehren (Taken from the album ‘Aéropop’; see www.vonmehren.com/, folkwit.com/artists/alexander-von-mehren & folkwitrecords.bandcamp.com/album/a-ropop)

18. Silent, Silent Night (5:36) – Mike Kershaw (Taken from the ‘Winter’ EP; see mikekershaw.bandcamp.com/, www.kershmusic.com/home & www.facebook.com/pages/Mike-Kershaw/144511622309101)

19. Silent Night (3:01) – Shauna Burns (Taken from the album ‘A Winter Gathering’; see shaunaburns.com/music/ & www.facebook.com/shaunaburnsmusic; this track was provided by Mevio’s Music Alley – see www.musicalley.com/)

20. Last Day of Winter (4:39) – i am robot and proud (Taken from the album ‘The Catch & Spring Summer Autumn Winter; see iamrobotandproud.bandcamp.com/album/the-catch-spring-summer-autumn-winter, www.robotandproud.com/ & en-gb.facebook.com/iamrobotandproud)

21. I believe in Father Christmas (Music Box cover) (3:30) – Hannah Peel (Hannah’s version of this track does not seem to be legally available online anymore but for more information about Greg Lake see www.greglake.com/ and for Hannah Peel see www.hannahpeel.com/ & www.facebook.com/HannahPeelMusic)

22. Xmas Fantasy – Silent Night (6:14) – Fran Dagostino (Free download available from www.macjams.com/artist/ziti; see also frandagostino.com/www.facebook.com/pages/Fran-Dagostino-Band/146779183952)

23. A Winter’s Tale (3:42) – All About Eve (Taken from the album ‘Iceland’; see julianneregan.com/julianneregan.com/welcome.html & www.goony.nl/aae/aae.htm)

24.  A Christmas Credit Card (Christmas in My Dreams) (2:21) – Asparagus Apocalypse & David Kaminsky (Free download available from www.macjams.com/artist/Epileptic+Gibbon; see also www.macjams.com/artist/dwwave)

A merry Christmas and compliments of the season to all the musicians who contributed and to all listeners too. Send me comments if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!). If you want to keep up to date with news about the show, EppyFest, or just chat with other listeners, don’t forget that there’s a Facebook group – just search for the Eppy Gibbon Podcast Show on Facebook and request to join. We’ll be back in January – there will be one show from Daniel and Rebsie and one from me, so we hope you’ll join us for those.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: