Episode 86: Dragonsfield

September 27, 2012 at 7:16 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , )

This is the eighty-sixth edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the playlist to accompany it. CLICK HERE TO LISTEN. This show is a guest slot introduced by Rebsie Fairholm and Daniel Staniforth of Alchymical Muse. The feature album is ‘TRÄ’ by Hedningarna, a lively Swedish band which you might call pagan medieval rock – plus lots more new, old and unusual music. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks to where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 1 hour and 37 minutes. Downloaded file is 89 MB.

1.  Vísur Vatnsenda-Rósu (4:21) – Hector Zazou & Björk (Taken from the album ‘Songs of the Cold Seas; see www.myspace.com/hectorzazou)

2.  Duisg Mo Chridhe (2:59) – Fiona Mackenzie  (Taken from the album ‘Elevate’; see www.fionamackenzie.com/index.html)

3.  Tongue Tied (4:21) – Emily Portman (Taken from the album ‘The Glamoury‘; see www.emilyportman.co.uk/)

4.  Såglåten (3:26) – Hedningarna  (Taken from the album ‘TRÄ’; see www.hedningarna.net)

5.  Mercury Rising (3:39) – The Stranglers (Taken from the album ‘Giants‘; see www.thestranglers.net/)

6.  What Have I Done (3:54) – Doris Brendel  (Taken from the album ‘The Last Adventure’; see www.dorisbrendel.com/)

7.  Sleeping Ute (4:37) – Grizzly Bear (Taken from the album ‘Shields‘: see grizzly-bear.net/)

8.  Hallaig (8:20) – Martyn Bennett (feat. Sorley MacLean)  (Taken from the album ‘Bothy Culture’; see www.martynbennett.com/)

9.  Räven (4:53) – Hedningarna  (Taken from the album ‘TRÄ’; see www.hedningarna.net)

As part of the new feature, ‘The 80s Weren’t All Rubbish You Know!’ …

10.  Winning (4:18) – The Sound (Taken from the album ‘From the Lion’s Mouth‘; see www.myspace.com/thesounduk)

11.  Jinx (4:59) – Tuxedomoon (Taken from the album ‘Desire’; see www.tuxedomoon.net/)

12.  Mermen of the Lea (3:21) – And Also the Trees (Taken from the album ‘Green is the Sea‘; see www.andalsothetrees.co.uk/)

13.  Lyke Wake Dirge (2:45) – Silver Birch  (Taken from the album ‘Silver Birch’; no web presence for this band )

14.  The Blind Can’t Lead the Blind (5:20) – Horslips  (Taken from the album ‘Dancehall Sweethearts’; see www.horslips.ie)

15.  The Winter’s End (3:22) – Liam O’Flynn  (Taken from the album ‘Out to an Other Side’; see www.taramusic.com/biogs/liamobg.htm)

16.  Tina Vieri (6:22) – Hedningarna  (Taken from the album ‘TRÄ’; see www.hedningarna.net)

17.  Bay of Skaill (4:49) – Magnetic North (Taken from the album ‘Orkney, Symphony of the Magnetic North‘; see www.myspace.com/themagneticnorthmusic)

18.  Dauðalogn  (6:37) – Sigur Rós (Taken from the album ‘Valtari’; see www.sigur-ros.co.uk/)

Many thanks to Epileptic Gibbon for entrusting us with another guest slot. Please leave a comment if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!) Eppy will be back for the next episode, which will be an exclusive interview with Doris Brendel and Lee Dunham.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: