Episode 81: Kill The King

July 16, 2012 at 11:50 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )

This is the 81st edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the playlist to accompany it. CLICK HERE TO LISTEN. This show represents a break from my ‘best of 2011’ shows, focusing instead on a mixture of wonderful new releases & a few other bits & bobs. The feature album this time is ‘Replicant’ from Andy Pickford, originally released in 1993 but remastered and re-released this year. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks to where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 2 hours and 22 minutes. Downloaded file is 129.6 MB.

1. The Magic Cloud (4:26) – Mr. and Mrs. Muffins (Taken from the album ‘The Raindrop Dance and Other Songs About Love’; see folkwit.com/artists/mr-mrs-muffins, mrandmrsmuffins.bandcamp.com/album/the-raindrop-dance-and-other-songs-about-love, & www.facebook.com/pages/Mr-and-Mrs-Muffins/115128943806)

2. You Never Will (4:54) – IQ (Taken from the album ‘Dark Matter’; see www.iq-hq.co.uk/ & www.facebook.com/pages/IQ-Band/160440748741)

3. Robots And Angels (3:56) – Bev Lee Harling (Taken from the album ‘Barefoot In Your Kitchen’; see www.bevleeharling.com/, www.wahwah45s.com/artists/bev-lee-harling/www.facebook.com/BevLeeHarlingMusic)

4. I Laugh In Your Face (4:11) – Bee Gees (Taken from the album ‘Odessa’; see beegees.com/ & www.guardian.co.uk/music/2009/jan/30/bee-gees-odessa-forgotten-album)

5. Questions (6:26) – Andy Pickford (Taken from the album ‘Replicant’; see andypickfordmusic.webplus.net/ & www.facebook.com/AndyPickfordMusic)

6. Savage with Barometer (5:32) – North Atlantic Oscillation (Taken from the album, ‘Fog Electric’; see www.naoband.com/fogelectric/, www.kscopemusic.com/northatlanticoscillation/ & www.facebook.com/northatlanticoscillation)

7. Poison Tree (1:58) – Nicole Miglis (Taken from her self-titled EP, which you can download via nicolemiglis.bandcamp.com/; see also nicolemiglis.com/ & hundred-waters.com/)

8. Insect Hoofs on Lassie (3:04) – David Minnick/The 180Gs (This is a cover of the song from the Cardiacs album, ‘Sing to God’ & can be downloaded via soundcloud.com/david-minnick; see also www.cardiacs.com/)

9. Solar Flare (3:17) – Kirsten Morrison (This track is currently not available for purchase but can be heard again via soundcloud.com/kirstenmorrison-1/solar-flare; see also www.kirstenmorrisonmusic.co.uk/Kirsten_Morrison_Music/Home.html)

As part of the new feature, ‘The 80s Weren’t All Rubbish You Know!’ …

10. Le Couteau Blond (3:50) – Malicorne (Taken from the album Balançoire en Feu; this album can be bought from www.Amazon.co.uk as a CD or as a download, or it’s available via www.gabrielyacoub.com/boutique/index.php)

11. Cloudwatching (7:18) – Andy Pickford (Taken from the album ‘Replicant’; see andypickfordmusic.webplus.net/ & www.facebook.com/AndyPickfordMusic)

12. One Foot in the Next World (4:35) – Stratospheerius (Taken from the album ‘The Next World…’; see stratospheerius.com/, www.facebook.com/stratospheerius, & stratospheerius.bandcamp.com/album/the-next-world)

13. Night Stalker (5:17) – Coralspin (Taken from the album ‘Honey And Lava’; see coralspin.com/, www.cdbaby.com/cd/coralspin & coralspin.bandcamp.com/)

14. Epiphany (5:57) – The Anabasis (Taken from the album, ‘Back from Being Gone’; see 10trecords.com/artists/genres/progressive-experimental/the-anabasis/, www.theanabasisproject.com/ & 10trecords.com/store/the-anabasis-back-from-being-gone/)

15. AP Epi Gibbon voice-over 2 (5:51) – Andy Pickford (Currently exclusively available on this show; see andypickfordmusic.webplus.net/ & www.facebook.com/AndyPickfordMusic)

16. Tiny Things (2:39) – Leaving Richmond (Taken from the EP, ‘The Bird and the Submarine’; see www.facebook.com/leavingrichmond?sk=info, www.cdbaby.com/artist/leavingrichmond & itunes.apple.com/us/artist/leaving-richmond/id370795208)

17. Delete (3:52) – She Makes War (Taken from the album ‘Little Battles’; you can buy the album via shemakeswar.bandcamp.com/album/little-battles & see also www.shemakeswar.com/, shemakeswar.bandcamp.com/ & www.facebook.com/SheMakesWar)

18. Sick Roses (3:47) – Lyrian (Taken from the album ‘The Tongues Of Men And Angels’; see www.medievalrecords.co.uk/TMA.html, itunes.apple.com/us/album/the-tongues-of-men-and-angels/id520553261, lyrian.bandcamp.com/releases & www.facebook.com/pages/Lyrian/28942418424)

19. Aggro Pronto (4:06) – Crumbling Ghost (Taken from the album ‘Crumbling Ghost’; see crumblingghost.blogspot.co.uk/, witheredhandrecords.blogspot.co.uk/p/crumbling-ghost.html & www.facebook.com/crumblingghost)

20. Dining with Death (3:01) – Death By Chocolate (Taken from the album ‘Bric-a-Brac’; see www.last.fm/music/Death+By+Chocolate & www.piccadillyrecords.com/products/DeathByChocolate-BricaBrac-Darla-80742.html)

21. Tonic For The Snoring (4:19) – Sanguine Hum (Taken from the new version of the album ‘Diving Bell’; see troopersforsound.com/category/sanguine-hum/, www.facebook.com/pages/Sanguine-Hum/148914338483750, & www.cherryred.co.uk/esoteric-exd.asp?id=3567)

22. Beyond The Barbed Wire (5:29) – Galahad (Taken from the album ‘Battle Scars’; see www.galahadonline.com/fr_home.cfm & www.facebook.com/pages/Galahad/216667625064912)

23. Sayonara (6:01) – Andy Pickford (Taken from the album ‘Replicant’; see andypickfordmusic.webplus.net/ & www.facebook.com/AndyPickfordMusic)

Thanks to all the musicians for producing such brilliant music and thanks to all you listeners too. Please leave a comment if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!) or if you want to have your say on anything else connected to this podcast. I will be back soon with some more shows, including the third and fourth of my ‘best of 2011’ shows.



  1. Tony Wilkinson said,

    HI Ian

    Just to wish you a merry Christmas and keep in touch.

    Best Wishes.

    Tony and Sue.

  2. epilepticgibbon said,

    Hi Tony,

    Many thanks for stopping by. A merry Christmas to Sue and yourself.

    Best wishes,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: