Episode 60: Too Many Christmas Trees

December 22, 2010 at 6:27 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )

This is the 60th edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the blog entry to accompany it. CLICK HERE TO LISTEN. This particular show is a festive special, with over an hour of music with a Christmas, Winter Solstice, festive or wintry theme. The feature album this time is ‘The Hollywood Drunks’ Christmas Album’ by (you’ll never guess) The Hollywood Drunks, plus there’s the usual diverse selection of styles, genres and artists, but all fitted around the seasonal theme. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks from where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time:  1 hour and 22 minutes. Downloaded file is 75.5 MB.

1. Because The Night Is So Perfectly Full (3:40) – The Temple Cloud Country Club (Available to hear on their Myspace page; see www.myspace.com/thetemplecloudcountryclub, www.last.fm/music/The+Temple+Cloud+Country+Club, & www.facebook.com/pages/The-Temple-Cloud-Country-Club/79114871398)

2. Winterthru (3:46) – Echolyn (Taken from the album ‘Suffocating The Bloom’ ; see www.echolyn.com & www.cdbaby.com/Artist/echolyn)

3. It Came Upon a Midnight Clear (3:41) – The Hollywood Drunks (Taken from ‘The Hollywood Drunks’ Christmas Album’; see www.winzenried.org/fr_intro.cfm & www.myspace.com/hollywooddrunks; this track was provided by Mevio’s Music Alley – see music.mevio.com)

4. Ice Flower (4:27) – Luna Trick (Taken from the album ‘Hoar Frost Sheen’; see www.flowforth.com/lunatrick.html & www.cdbaby.com/Artist/LunaTrick)

5. Gaudete (2:12) – Anúna (Taken from the album ‘Omnis; see www.anuna.ie/ & www.myspace.com/anuna)

6. Lonely Winter (5:10) – Drugstore Fanatics (Taken from the album ‘What’s Born in the Basement’; see www.drugstorefanatics.com/, www.facebook.com/drugstorefanatics & www.myspace.com/drugstorefanatics)

7. Indian Christmas (2:22) – Bruno pitch (Available via his website; see www.brunopitch.com/music.html & www.myspace.com/brunopitch)

8. O Come, O Come Emmanuel (3:13) – Cat Jahnke (Taken from the album ‘O Night Divine’; see www.catjahnke.com/, www.cdbaby.com/Artist/CatJahnke & www.myspace.com/catjahnke; this track was provided by Mevio’s Music Alley – see music.mevio.com)

9. Silent Night (4:06) – Flatland Music Group (See www.flatlandchurch.com/; this track was provided by Mevio’s Music Alley – see music.mevio.com)

10. Snow Song (2:49) – Sunday Driver (Taken from the album In the City of Dreadful Night; see www.sundaydriver.co.uk/ & www.myspace.com/sundaydriverinuk)

11. We Three Kings of Orient Are (3:10) – The Hollywood Drunks (Taken from ‘The Hollywood Drunks’ Christmas Album’; see www.winzenried.org/fr_intro.cfm & www.myspace.com/hollywooddrunks; this track was provided by Mevio’s Music Alley – see music.mevio.com)

12. Santa Claus Is Freaking Me Out (2:48) – Lord Weatherby (Single available from www.cdbaby.com/Artist/LordWeatherby; see also www.myspace.com/lordweatherby; this track was provided by Mevio’s Music Alley – see music.mevio.com)

13. Sonar In Winter (4:25) – Leaving Richmond (Available to hear on the Leaving Richmond Myspace page; see www.myspace.com/leavingrichmond, www.reverbnation.com/leavingrichmond, & www.facebook.com/leavingrichmond)

14. Silent Night (4:26) – Aaron English (See www.aaronenglish.com/ & www.myspace.com/theaaronenglishband; this track was provided by Mevio’s Music Alley – see music.mevio.com)

15. God Rest Ye Jazzy Gentlemen (2:52) – John Stebbe (Free download available from www.macjams.com/artist/John+Stebbe; see also www.johnstebbe.com & www.cdbaby.com/Artist/JohnStebbe)

16. Dead Winter Sleep (7:29) – Fauns (Taken from the album ‘LeafFall’; see www.fauns.de/ & www.myspace.com/faunsmusic)

17. Carol of the Bells (1:57) – The Hollywood Drunks (Taken from ‘The Hollywood Drunks’ Christmas Album’; see www.winzenried.org/fr_intro.cfm & www.myspace.com/hollywooddrunks; this track was provided by Mevio’s Music Alley – see music.mevio.com)

18. Passing Time (2:26) – The Hipstones (Taken from the album ‘Dreamers’; see www.thehipstones.com.au/ & www.myspace.com/thehipstones)

19. A Christmas Credit Card (Christmas in My Dreams) (2:21) – Asparagus Apocalypse & David Kaminsky (Free download available from www.macjams.com/artist/Epileptic+Gibbon; see also www.macjams.com/artist/dwwave)

A merry Christmas and compliments of the season to all the musicians who contributed and to all listeners. Send me comments if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!). You may not hear from me for a bit but I’m hoping there will still be a show in January, and hopefully by February I’ll be back with special editions focusing on the Best of 2010. If you’ve got your own favourites from 2010 feel free to add a comment here or on the Facebook group for the podcast.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: