Episode 43: Diamond Cut Diamond

This is the forty-third edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show. CLICK HERE TO LISTEN. This episode is guest presented by Rebsie Fairholm and Daniel Staniforth of Alchymical Muse and provides the usual eclecticism and musical sparks you’ve come to expect from the Eppy podcast. The feature album this time around is Love and Reason’ by Edinburgh-based harp and percussion duo Macmaster/Hay, an album which combines traditional Scottish/Gaelic music with their own original material in a very fresh new setting. In addition, you’ll hear orchestral, psych folk, moon worship, atonal aquatic, gypsy folk, quirky pop and much more from the US, Spain, Germany and the UK. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks to where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time:  1 hour and 20 minutes. Downloaded file is 73.5 MB.

1. Grotesqueries for Orchestra IV (2:09) – Soulima (See: http://johnmcintyre.net/ ; pieces can be downloaded at http://www.icompositions.com/artists/soulima )

2. Vortex (4:21) – Golden Death Music (see: http://www.myspace.com/goldendeathmusic )

3.  Thograinn Thograinn (3:34) – Macmaster/Hay (Taken from the album ‘Love And Reason’;  see http://www.myspace.com/macmasterhay )

4.  Black Sarah (4:49) – Tinkerscuss (Taken from the album ‘Nine Trees’;  see http://www.myspace.com/tinkerscuss )

5.  The Dream (5:29 ) – Rachel Kenedy (See: http://www.rachelkenedy.tk/ and http://www.myspace.com/rachelkenedy )

6.  Dawn Comes For Us All (6:45) – Ex Reverie (Taken from the album ‘The Door Into Summer’;  see www.exreverie.com or www.myspace.com/exreverie )

7.  Palladium [Night]  (2:48) – sToa (Taken from the album ‘Silmand’; see http://www.stoa.de )

8.  Pibroch (6:36) – Macmaster/Hay (Taken from the Album ‘Love And Reason’;  see http://www.myspace.com/macmasterhay )

9.  A Sea of Dreams (3:38) – Persona (Taken from the album ‘Ruïnes’; see http://www.personaband.net/ )

10.  Home and Somewhere Else…  (3:20) – Mimicking Birds (See http://www.myspace.com/natelacy )

11.  I Can’t Contain Myself (3:30) – slumbering (Taken from the album ‘Songalong… ‘; see http://macidol.com/jamroom/slumbering/ )

12.  Soraidh Leis a Bhreacan Ùr (3:54) – Macmaster/Hay (Taken from the album ‘Love And Reason’; see http://www.myspace.com/macmasterhay )

13.  He Gives His Beloved Certain Rhymes (5:06) – North Sea Radio Orchestra (Taken from the album ‘North Sea Radio Orchestra’; see http://nsro.co.uk/ )

14.  A Moon Vigil (11:31) – Pia Silvi (Taken from the EP ‘The Meditations 1 to 3’; see http://www.piasilvi.com/ )


2 thoughts on “Episode 43: Diamond Cut Diamond

  1. slumbering says:

    You two have done Eppy proud! This is a lovely podcast experience. I feel very humbled to find my song here, among such wonderfully gorgeous music. Wow… what a treat! <3

  2. Matt Stevens says:

    Certainly some magic here – really great show, inspiring. A treat indeed.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s