Episode 40: Best of 2009 part 1

January 4, 2010 at 10:34 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )

This is the fortieth edition of the Epileptic Gibbon podcast music show and the blog entry to accompany it. CLICK HERE TO LISTEN. This particular show is the first of three ‘Best of 2009’ specials, with over an hour of some of the best tracks from 2009. There is no feature album this time because I’m focusing on as many albums from 2009 as I can, but there’s the usual diverse selection of styles and genres, including prog rock, pronk rock, electronica, experimental pop, alt rock and general strangeness. Below you’ll find the track list, plus weblinks from where you can find more information about each artist.

Total running time: 1 hour and 16 minutes. Downloaded file is 69.4 MB.

1. Isis Unveiled (Radio Edit) (4:30) – …And You Will Know Us By The Trail of Dead (Taken from the album ‘The Century Of Self’; see www.trailofdead.com/; this track was provided by Mevio’s Music Alley – see http://music.mevio.com)

2. War With Love (3:32) – Louise Le May (Taken from the mini-album ‘Tell Me One Thing That Is New’; see louiselemay.com/ & www.myspace.com/louiselemay)

3. Should I Be Untrue (5:01) – Coloma (Taken from the album ‘Love’s Recurring Dream; see www.myspace.com/colomamusic & www.italic.de/)

4. Lessons (4:35) – Elf Project (Taken from the album ‘Mirage’; see 10trecords.com/artists/genres/progressive-experimental/elf-project/ & www.myspace.com/elfproject1)

5. City (3:44) – The Vital Might (Taken from the album ‘Red Planet; see www.thevitalmight.com/, www.myspace.com/thevitalmight & 10trecords.com/artists/genres/progressive-experimental/the-vital-might/)

6. Starship U-boot (4:50) – M. in D. (Taken from the EP ‘Starship U-boot’; see www.myspace.com/onmindzero & www.miraloop.com)

7. Click This Maybe (3:56) – Soiled (Taken from the album ‘Slothmotion; see despairsoiledmusic.blogspot.com/ & www.myspace.com/soileddirtybeats)

8. Lunar Walk (5:05) – Liovaine (Taken from the album ‘Accidents; see www.myspace.com/liovaine)

9. Paperweights (2:34) – Capillary Action (Taken from the album ‘So Embarrassing’; see www.myspace.com/capillaryaction)

10. Sexy Koala (1:20) – Capillary Action (Taken from the album ‘So Embarrassing; see weblink above)

11. An Arrival (3:30) – Knifeworld (Taken from the album ‘Buried Alone: Tales of Crushing Defeat’; see www.knifeworld.co.uk/ & www.myspace.com/knifeworlduk)

12. I Was Never The One (3:57) – All Smiles (Taken from the album ‘Oh For The Getting And Not Letting Go; see www.allsmilesmusic.com/ & www.myspace.com/allsmilesmusic)

13. Blue By You (3:24) – Marvin B. Naylor (Taken from Marvin’s CD single ‘The Nightingales’; see www.myspace.com/mbnaylor & www.folkwit.biz/naylor.htm)

14. Escape from DS-3 (5:42) – Jolly (Taken from the album ‘Forty-Six Minutes, Twelve Seconds of Music; see www.jollyband.com/, www.myspace.com/jollyband, & www.progrockrecords.com/artists/view.php?id=117)

15. Falling (6:36) – Mr So and So (Taken from the album ‘Sugarstealer’; see www.mrsoandso.com/home.htm & www.myspace.com/mrsoandso)

Thanks as always to all the musicians who helped to make 2009 such a great year and to all the listeners who have helped this show go from strength to strength. Send me comments if you like what you hear (or even if you don’t… feedback is so important!) and don’t forget to vote for your favourite three acts/artists as played on the show over the past 40 episodes – voting ends in February. See you for the next episode when I’ll present my second show (of three) looking at some of the best music from 2009.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: